why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby baber » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:23 pm

dear all
Hi

i used surebackup but there is a problem sure backup can not check vms with linux OS but it don't have problem with Windows OS all of vms that their os is linux sure backup can not work correctly and failed but for all windows vms it is ok please see attach pic



http://oi66.tinypic.com/v3q4iv.jpg


BR
Babak
baber
Expert
 
Posts: 180
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Saedi nejad

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby MichaelCade » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:28 pm

During the process are you able to see the machine power on ?
Regards,

Michael Cade
Technical Evangelist
Veeam Software
Email: Michael.Cade@Veeam.com
Twitter: @MichaelCade1
MichaelCade
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 63
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:55 am
Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Full Name: Michael Cade

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby baber » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:42 pm

MichaelCade wrote:During the process are you able to see the machine power on ?


yes it will be power on and can see os has been boot

i think this is bug because just happen for linux backups my veeam version is 9.5.0.823

BR
baber
Expert
 
Posts: 180
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Saedi nejad

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby MichaelCade » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:46 pm

can you console in and just check network connectivity? I vaguely remember a "feature" where the network card on the VM was wrong compared to production....
Regards,

Michael Cade
Technical Evangelist
Veeam Software
Email: Michael.Cade@Veeam.com
Twitter: @MichaelCade1
MichaelCade
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 63
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:55 am
Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Full Name: Michael Cade

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby baber » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:53 pm

MichaelCade wrote:can you console in and just check network connectivity? I vaguely remember a "feature" where the network card on the VM was wrong compared to production....


Is your means that run sure backup for linux backup is difference from windows backup ?????
because i do all these things for windows backup and all of steps are ok and do successfully

i think this is bug because just happen for linux backups my veeam version is 9.5.0.823

BR
baber
Expert
 
Posts: 180
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Saedi nejad

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby MichaelCade » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:56 pm

no its not different, when i am not on my phone i will try and find the KB article describing this.
Regards,

Michael Cade
Technical Evangelist
Veeam Software
Email: Michael.Cade@Veeam.com
Twitter: @MichaelCade1
MichaelCade
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 63
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:55 am
Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Full Name: Michael Cade

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby baber » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:09 pm

MichaelCade wrote:no its not different, when i am not on my phone i will try and find the KB article describing this.


i am waiting

BR
baber
Expert
 
Posts: 180
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Saedi nejad

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby MichaelCade » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:17 pm

So from your error message. It looks like the network is fine. But a timeout issue. Is this Linux VM running from the same repository as the windows machine?
Regards,

Michael Cade
Technical Evangelist
Veeam Software
Email: Michael.Cade@Veeam.com
Twitter: @MichaelCade1
MichaelCade
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 63
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:55 am
Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Full Name: Michael Cade

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby baber » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:28 pm

MichaelCade wrote:So from your error message. It looks like the network is fine. But a timeout issue. Is this Linux VM running from the same repository as the windows machine?



yes all of them are on same storage
same esxi
same vlan

just one of them vm's os is linux and the other is windows
i did not install latest update for veeam 9.5 is that related to this ???

BR
baber
Expert
 
Posts: 180
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Saedi nejad

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby MichaelCade » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:31 pm

I don't believe so. I am not going to be in front of a computer to search properly for a few hours, if this is causing pain then I would suggest reaching out to support
Regards,

Michael Cade
Technical Evangelist
Veeam Software
Email: Michael.Cade@Veeam.com
Twitter: @MichaelCade1
MichaelCade
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 63
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:55 am
Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Full Name: Michael Cade

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby baber » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:58 pm

i will be wait untill you go on your pc

BR
baber
Expert
 
Posts: 180
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Saedi nejad

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby MichaelCade » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:22 pm

On the linux VM in the surebackup settings increase the timeout the error you are seeing is down to timeout - https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
Regards,

Michael Cade
Technical Evangelist
Veeam Software
Email: Michael.Cade@Veeam.com
Twitter: @MichaelCade1
MichaelCade
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 63
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:55 am
Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Full Name: Michael Cade

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:11 pm

Does the VM have VMware tools installed? I notice it is a RHEL 4 so I am wondering which VMware tools are active? It would still be best to contact support to see why this fails by investigating logs.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1623
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby baber » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:08 am

vmniels wrote:Does the VM have VMware tools installed? I notice it is a RHEL 4 so I am wondering which VMware tools are active? It would still be best to contact support to see why this fails by investigating logs.


Dear friend
Hi

my os is = redhat 6.4
vmware tools has been installed on that
i changed boot time from 600s to 1200s but problem not solved and appear previous error

why ???

BR
baber
Expert
 
Posts: 180
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Saedi nejad

Re: why sure backup not work correctly with linux backups

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:10 am

Did you contact support already in regards to it? As by the screenshot it's harder to determine why it fails. It might be related due to the backup storage not able to give the needed IO however logs insight will tell more.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1623
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests