Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Scalmie
Lurker
Liked: never

Will Replication work across WAN

Post by Scalmie »

Firstly, please excuse the basic questioning, but I am fairly new to both VMWare and VEEAM.

We recently installed Backup and Replication V5 and I have a extremely basic Replication question. We currently run a Operations Center that houses 3 ESX servers with about 65 Vm's total. In addition we have a Recovery Site which has a single ESX server in the event of a disaster. Currently if we were to recover it would be a long process restoring all of our VMs from backup. If I'm thinking about this correctly, this is where Replication would help.

I want to replicate my "critical" vms over a 3 Mb wan at night when traffic is at a minimum. I was trying to find some resources that would help me with replication strategies and give me an idea of how much data would be transferred during the replication process. I would assume we would need to bring the ESX server from the Recovery site to the Operations site for the initial Replication, correct?

Any direction would be highly appreciated.
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Will Replication work across WAN

Post by foggy »

Yes, seeding the initial backup is a good practice. Though I think its much easier to use some kind of external disk than moving the whole server between sites. :D
Please search this forum for WAN replication for the numerous existing discussions on slow link replication strategies. Thanks.
J1mbo
Veteran
Liked: 29 times
Full Name: James Pearce

Post by J1mbo »

An idea of the amount of data that will be transferred can be sought by running the VMs in questions with snapshots for some period of time. Obviously be careful when doing so, I would suggest one VM at a time, and make absolutely sure there is no possibility of running out of disk space!

Remember 3Mbps is about 340KB/s only.
Natoli
Novice
Full Name: Anthony

Post by Natoli »