Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jstraten
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: May 13, 2010 8:22 pm
Full Name: Jens Straten
Contact:

Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by jstraten » Aug 20, 2013 12:32 am

Can somebody confirm what OS are supported? I just tried to upgrade to V7 and it failed with a popup showing me supported OS (including the one the server is running on which is 2008 SP2 x64), but it still failed with an unsupported OS error.

I found that the online documentation claims that Windows 2008 is supported:

http://www.veeam.com/vmware-backup/help ... index.html
Planning & Preparation -> Requirements -> System Requirements

However, the following document says otherwise:

http://www.veeam.com/veeam_backup_7_0_r ... tes_rn.pdf

So, what is it? Thank you!

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by ejleipold » Aug 20, 2013 2:20 am

I've just upgraded my v6.5 to v7 without any installation issues, it's running on a Windows Server 2008 R2 (Service Pack 1) VM.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24643
Liked: 3470 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by Gostev » Aug 20, 2013 7:55 am

jstraten wrote:However, the following document says otherwise:
http://www.veeam.com/veeam_backup_7_0_r ... tes_rn.pdf
Can you please quote where do you see this document stating otherwise?
I can see it stating Windows Server 2008 SP2 x64 is supported.

skate88
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 25, 2011 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by skate88 » Aug 20, 2013 3:24 pm

hello

as jstrasten says -
http://www.veeam.com/vmware-backup/help ... index.html

Planning & Preparation -> Requirements -> System Requirements

this is the document linked to on the splash page of the installer screen

quote under "veeam backup server"

Only 64-bit versions of the following operating systems are supported:

•Microsoft Windows Server 2008 SP2

•Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1

•Microsoft Windows 7 SP1

•Microsoft Windows 8

•Microsoft Windows Server 2012


I have the same problem installer stops saying OS not supported for veeam catalog
looks like this document is wrong ? 2008 sp2 support dropped?

skate88
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 25, 2011 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by skate88 » Aug 20, 2013 3:27 pm

hi

so both doucments say 2008 sp2 is supported
but the installer fails immediately on the veeam catolg install

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5404
Liked: 2230 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by tsightler » Aug 20, 2013 3:29 pm

Could be a bug. I'd suggest a support case.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24643
Liked: 3470 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by Gostev » Aug 20, 2013 8:16 pm

Yes, because I just confirmed this is a supported platform. Please include case ID here.

skate88
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 25, 2011 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by skate88 » Aug 21, 2013 8:51 am

Your support case number is 00432113

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24643
Liked: 3470 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by Gostev » Aug 21, 2013 9:02 am

QC has also just tested this on GA code, and works fine. So looks like some environment-specific problem rather than global, and we will be investigating specific support cases now.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24643
Liked: 3470 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by Gostev » Aug 21, 2013 11:02 am

@skate88 looks like you are installing on a domain controller, can you confirm?

skate88
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 25, 2011 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by skate88 » Aug 21, 2013 11:42 am

hello
yes it is a domain controller
i guess this was not a problem in version 4/5/6 as they worked fine in the past.
its no problem as the server is due for demotion, as we have now 2 x 2012 dc
i guess this will speed up the demotion process!

thanks for your help and looking into it for me
regards
neil

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24643
Liked: 3470 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by Gostev » Aug 21, 2013 11:47 am

You are right, there are no and never were any issues with installing on domain controllers in general.
This was an unintended change by setup developers while they were fixing something else.
As the result, setup does not currently allow installing on Windows 2008 DC.

Installing on Windows 2008 without DC role enabled works fine, just like installing on DC running any other supported Windows version.

We will remove this check in the next release (cannot really patch a setup).

Sorry for the inconvenience...

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24643
Liked: 3470 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by Gostev » Aug 21, 2013 11:54 am

By the way, we can still help you to install on Windows 2008 DC if you have no other options available.
But this would require scheduling a webex with R&D folks from setup team. Good punishment for them ;)

skate88
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 25, 2011 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by skate88 » Aug 21, 2013 12:03 pm

hello Gostve
thanks for the offer, but its a job I have been meaning to do for a while
so I will take the punishment and do the demotion it also has the CA on it
hence why I have been putting it off for a while
will probably upgrade the OS as well, so I may even start
with a clean veaam 7 install ;)

jstraten
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: May 13, 2010 8:22 pm
Full Name: Jens Straten
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by jstraten » Aug 21, 2013 7:50 pm

Sorry about the late reply.

Gostev, yes, I misread the document. It is listed as supported in both documents. No issues there.

We are also running on a DC here as well. So, same issue. However, we might prefer waiting on the next release. Any idea when this will become available?

One more question: Is the problem limited to Windows 2008 SP2 DC or any server with DC? Hmmm, I think Gostev answered that above, right?

Thank you for everybody's reply!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 21, 2013 8:49 pm

jstraten wrote:We are also running on a DC here as well. So, same issue. However, we might prefer waiting on the next release. Any idea when this will become available?
If you're running into the same issue and need to install your Veeam B&R on the DC, then feel free to open a support case to ask assistance from our R&D team. I wouldn't wait till the next release, which doesn't have an ETA yet.
jstraten wrote:One more question: Is the problem limited to Windows 2008 SP2 DC or any server with DC? Hmmm, I think Gostev answered that above, right?
Yes ;)
Gostev wrote:As the result, setup does not currently allow installing on Windows 2008 DC.

Installing on Windows 2008 without DC role enabled works fine, just like installing on DC running any other supported Windows version.

atlantika78
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 22, 2013 7:50 pm
Full Name: Kai Duester
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by atlantika78 » Aug 22, 2013 7:53 pm

Hello,

here the same issue on a german Windows 2008 SP2 System. Support Case Number: # 00432824

Kai

atlantika78
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 22, 2013 7:50 pm
Full Name: Kai Duester
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by atlantika78 » Aug 23, 2013 8:15 am

ok here the Statement from Veeam: no Support to Windows 2008 SP2 with DC Role.

Our Solution: Install Veeam 7 on a other Windows Server

pcrebe
Enthusiast
Posts: 94
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 06, 2010 10:41 pm
Full Name: CARLO
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by pcrebe » Aug 23, 2013 8:40 am

Gostev, Is supported install the B&R on a DC? Any recommendations? Maybe on a DC2 in the DR host :wink: ?

Is also possible upgrade from v6.5 to v7 and after it setup the DC role?

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 23, 2013 9:08 am

Yes, it is supported, but not on Windows 2008 machines. I'm not sure that there will be no issues during upgrade of Veeam B&R on a Windows 2008 DC machine, since the same setup files/procedures are being used.

ReidA
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 13, 2019 4:25 pm
Full Name: Reid Albee
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by ReidA » Sep 13, 2019 4:27 pm

I am also having problems. Backup job trying to process Server 2008r2 Standard fails with 'operating system not supported.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Windows 2008 SP2 Support?

Post by foggy » Sep 13, 2019 5:48 pm

Hi Reid, I recommend contacting support for assistance with this. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 15 guests