Windows authentication for Enterprise Manager

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Windows authentication for Enterprise Manager

Veeam Logoby tjestr » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:04 pm

Is it possible to use Windows passthrough authentication for the Enterprise Manager to eliminate the need to enter credentials?
tjestr
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Location: Hamburg
Full Name: Falko Dohse

Re: Windows authentication for Enterprise Manager

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:43 pm

Falko, impersonation (which is what you are talking about) only works within the same server, however we are also using the entered credentials to determine whether the user is allowed to manage the jobs on specific server, but impersonation does not work remotely. Such check is performed each time when you try to Start/Stop/Retry the job in the web UI.

It is still possible to make the latter work, by only by leveraging "delegation", but this would require some changes to default IIS security settings, as well as updating some security-sensitive attributes on computer accounts in AD (TrustedForDelegation). This is not kind of changes we can do silently in setup, and instead we would have to require all users to do this. Which would in turn complicate the setup, and much fewer people would be able to make everything work and see the web UI. While our main task have been making everything as simple as possible.

Based on all of thesัƒ factors, we have decided to go with the current implementation. We can still implement support for delegation down the road, and provide some guide you could use to enable the required settings manually, if your security guys will be OK about this of course (if you even have those) :mrgreen:
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21441
Liked: 2361 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Windows authentication for Enterprise Manager

Veeam Logoby MortenDall » Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:05 pm

I am in a situtation where I need to change the Enterprise Manager IIS Authentication method, to do AD lookup without being on the domain (Digest Authentication eg.)
Does anyone have guidance, please?
MortenDall
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 12:04 pm
Full Name: Morten Dall

Re: Windows authentication for Enterprise Manager

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:56 pm

For Windows authentication to work, Enterprise Manager should reside in the same domain with the account (or at least in the trusted domain).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14901
Liked: 1094 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], danieljordanshaw, fika, Yahoo [Bot] and 47 guests