Host Not Monitored?

Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:53 pm

Hellom,

SCOM 2007 R2
Veeam MP 6.5.0.1549

Why do I have host "Not Monitored" individually on Cluster which are monitored globally and other host are monitored?
Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:48 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Dom,

There could be several different reasons for that....

First of all, could you try Rebuild Topology link in the VEEAM UI? This causes SCOM to rebuild and re-initialize all the VMware objects.
Please wait 30 minutes or so for that to complete.

Second, you could also try restarting the System Center Health Service on the Collector server which monitors this host. (you can see in the VEEAM UI which Collector is monitoring which Cluster(s))
That will also cause SCOM to re-discover and re-initialize managed objects, including VMware hosts.
Again wait about 30 minutes for that to complete.

If those solutions don't work, there could be a more complex problem with vCenter, permissions, the host itself, etc...if you raise a support case we can dive in.

Thanks!
Alec
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Fri Dec 05, 2014 7:10 pm

Hi Alec,

All collectors have been restarted.
I am waiting the "Rebuild Topology"

Thanks,
DOm
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby sergey.g » Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:57 am 1 person likes this post

Hi, if you still experience the issue, check if all of these hosts are from the same VMware Collector? If so, monitor Operations Manager log on this server, I bet Health Service is experiencing issues delivering the data, we need to understand why - maybe amount of objects/workflows is too high for this Collector. When hosts are discovered, SCOM should initialize monitors for them regardless of VES or Collector state. So, most of times when hosts aren't monitored it's a Health Service issue. Maybe MPs haven't arrived yet or HS cannot handle this amount of objects.

Let us know about your progress.
Thanks.
sergey.g
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 453
Liked: 75 times
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Mon Dec 08, 2014 5:31 pm

Hi, I see some performance issues YES.
I have 5 Collectors for 62 Hosts, 678 VMs

The first collector is giving an error:
Time Sampled: 12/3/2014 10:53:07 AM
Object Name: Process
Counter Name: Handle Count
Instance Name: MonitoringHost
Last Sampled Value: 18286
Number of Samples: 10602

the second collector is giving an eror:
Time Sampled: 12/3/2014 10:52:56 AM
Object Name: Process
Counter Name: Handle Count
Instance Name: MonitoringHost
Last Sampled Value: 15375
Number of Samples: 7846

and I have a third one which is not communicating properly...

still investigating but do you think I have enough collectors for the number of VMs?
Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Mon Dec 08, 2014 6:50 pm

I am still getting

Log Name: Operations Manager
Source: OpsMgr Connector
Date: 12/8/2014 10:46:32 AM
Event ID: 21023
Task Category: None
Level: Information
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: VOPVEEAMCOL1.ad.medctr.ucla.edu
Description:
OpsMgr has no configuration for management group SCOM-MED and is requesting new configuration from the Configuration Service.
....
does this means there is issue with the collector to contact the Management Server?
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Mon Dec 08, 2014 7:28 pm

On System Center Operations Manager 2007 R2: Stop the System Center Management service.
Locate the installation directory for OpsMgr in the following path:
SystemDrive\Program Files\System Center Operations Manager 2007
Delete the Health Service State directory.
Restart the service.

I did it on the 3 Management servers as well as on the 5 collectors with reboot
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:52 pm

the "not -communicating Collector" has been rebuilt... and communicate now...
checking why the machine are overloaded suddendly after two years
the number of VMs or Hosts or Clusters do not seem to be the reason as these two collectors do not have the more VMs, Clusters or Hosts!!!
All Collectors have the same configuration..
Name - Clusters - Hosts - VMs - Datastores
OCol1 - 5 - 17 - 120 - 0 ==> Overload
OCol2 - 1 - 9 - 162 - 0 ===> Overload
Mgr1 - 3 - 7 - 125 - 70
RCol1 - 0 - 16 - 126 - 0
RCol2 - 1 - 13 - 146 - 0

Still working on the troubleshooting trying to get something!!!
Thanks,
"Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:50 am 1 person likes this post

Hello Dom,

Your Collectors should not be overloaded; less than 200 VMs per Collector is OK. Assuming that Collector meets minimum hardware spec (2 x CPU, 4GB RAM)

Are those Collectors performing any other tasks?

Note - the event about "requesting new configuration" is expected, after you have cleared the Health State cache on the server.

Do you still see errors in the Operations Manager log on those Collectors?
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:00 pm

Hello
Yes two collectors are still having the alerts for
All the collectors are:
4 vCPU
16 GB RAM
Veeam VMware Collector: Health Service (Monitor Host) Handle Count threshold

No other task they are dedicated to be Veeam MP Collectors.

Yes and trying to Reset the Health on the SCOM Console takes for ever .... 45 minutes...

Let me uninstall Veeam Collectors and reinstall them ...

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:05 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Dom,

I think the problems might be on the SCOM side - not the Collector side. So, reinstall of Collectors might not help.
Note - the Handle Count alert might not be a serious issue. This is a 'soft' threshold, depending on your environment - it may be you can increase this threshold.
Do you see other data from VEEAM MP is delivered OK? (hosts, VMs, performance data, reports and dashboards and so on)

Perhaps you should open a support case? Then we'll get your log files, and we can do some detailed analysis.
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:35 pm

The collectors have been re-installed.
As you said no effect...
The SCOM agents have been re-installed ....
still in progress but so far the collectors are still green in SCOM!!!
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:13 pm

felyjos wrote:The collectors have been re-installed.
As you said no effect...
The SCOM agents have been re-installed ....
still in progress but so far the collectors are still green in SCOM!!!


Still one collector missing !!!
What will be the impact on the collectors/VMs/Host of a change in the MOM Action password?

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:30 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Dom,

Quick answer - there should be no effect to VEEAM MP if you change the MOM Action Account password. Assuming that the Action Account is still in local Administrators group for that server, that's all we need. We don't use that password anywhere in our Collector our UI.

When you say one Collector is 'missing', you mean that you cannot see it in SCOM?
If you can't see it in VEEAM MP views folder - can you see it in all Computers view in SCOM console? Is the agent itself correctly installed and healthy?
And BTW when you reinstalled the agents; did you set Proxy permission for them? This is a requirement for Veeam MP, and if you reinstall the agents you have to set Proxy again (SCOM console, Administration, Agent-managed, double-click each server and check Security tab)

Please do raise a support case any time you want - we will get detailed logs and will know better what is happening....

Cheers
Alec
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Host Not Monitored?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:44 pm

Hi Alec,

Yes it is still in the Local Administrators Group ... Any issue with nested Groups?

When you say one Collector is 'missing', you mean that you cannot see it in SCOM?
I can see in some views but not a specific one...
YES it is showing in Agent Managed, Collector Heartbeat Views but not under _Collector Service Status View

YES the act as proxy is checked on all collectors.
I will open a case with Veeam as it seems I am looping!!!
"Your support case number is 00700694"
Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Next

Return to Veeam Management Pack for Microsoft System Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests