incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:26 pm

Hello,

SCOM 2012 and Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0 installed ... in SCOM it looks okay even for now I do not see the collector...
But in the Veeam UI I see only two tabs, Dashboard and Hyper-V Servers nothing about VMservers, Collectors etc...
Do I need to install a previous bversion for VMware?
what di I miss?

I have in the start menu only two options:
Veeam Virtualization Extensions Shell
Veeam Management Pack for System Center (this is the UI which is showing only Hyper -V stuff)


Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Mon Dec 29, 2014 9:15 pm

Hello,

I think it is a license issue as I upload only one license the one 0_32... not the 32_0...
in review so my question is can I have the two environment Hyper-V and VMware on the same machine., the same UI?

Thanks,
DOm
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Mon Dec 29, 2014 9:53 pm

Hello,

I tried
Upgrading Veeam MP on a Management Server
In case the previous version of Veeam Management Pack was installed on a Management Server,
take the following steps to upgrade VE Service, Veeam UI and Veeam VMware Collector:
1. Log on to the Management Server where the VE Service, Veeam UI and Veeam VMware
Collector components are installed.
2. Insert the installation disc into the CD/DVD drive or mount the installation image. The
setup will open the splash screen with installation options.
3. On the install menu of the splash screen, click Veeam Management Pack Suite.
4. The setup will detect Veeam MP for VMware components installed on the server. Review
the components to upgrade, click Next and and follow the setup wizard.

but it gave me only two options:"
- Repair
- Remove
no upgrade option on top of 7.0.0.1862 to get 7.0.0.1914!!!

ANy idea?
Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:41 pm

felyjos wrote:Hello,

I think it is a license issue as I upload only one license the one 0_32... not the 32_0...
in review so my question is can I have the two environment Hyper-V and VMware on the same machine., the same UI?

Thanks,
DOm


I was able to install the Veeam license but does this mean I need one server for Veeam Management Pack for VMware and one separate server for Veeam MP for Hyper-V?

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby sergey.g » Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:55 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Dom,

No, you just need a merged license, I'll ask support to check with sales department.

With respect to R2 (build 1914) - there is no way to upgrade VES, Shell or Collectors. This upgrade is only for Management Packs, so you just need to import new 1914 management packs from the management packs folder on the ISO. Here is a detailed instruction http://helpcenter.veeam.com/mp/70/vmware_guide/index.html?installation_guide.html
sergey.g
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 453
Liked: 75 times
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:06 pm

Hello,

But with a merge license this means we will need to uninstall the current environment which is or VM or HV then install with the new one, or could a merged license update the current environment?

thanks
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby sergey.g » Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:14 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,

You can just deploy merged license to the VMware VES and it will do Hyper-V too, then you will not need the other Hyper-V VES, actually they will not work very well together, in the current implementation you have to have only one VES for Hyper-V.

Thanks.
sergey.g
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 453
Liked: 75 times
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:27 pm

Hi,

So one VES for Hyper-V and VM with a merged license on one server is fine for me...
I will uninstall the other VES on the second and Hyper-V will have only one VES common with VM.

BTW: is it possible to use the same vCenter as source of VMs for test and production VES?

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby sergey.g » Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:37 pm

Hi Dom,

I'm not sure I fully understand your architecture, but I think it doesn't matter which vCenter you are using to host both labs. I think that if they ar reporting to the same SCOM management group, then yes, this could create issues, especially with Hyper-V VES.

Thanks.
sergey.g
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 453
Liked: 75 times
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:46 pm

Hi Sergey,

Same vCenter
Different VES (6.5(production) & 7.0 (test))
Different SCOM (2007(productoin & 2012 (test))

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:04 pm

Hi Sergey,

Same vCenter
Different VES (6.5(production) & 7.0 (test))
Different SCOM (2007(productoin & 2012 (test))

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: incomplete Veeam MP 7.1.10226.0?

Veeam Logoby sergey.g » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:07 pm

Hi,

So, yes, same vCenter is not an issue. Just make sure SCOM systems are separated, I.E. SCOM agents on VES and collector computers are not reporting to both management groups. However even If both VES systems are visible in the same SCOM managment groups, there won't be any major issues/crashes, just licensing components in reports and widgets may detect an older/incorrect VES license.

Thanks
sergey.g
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 453
Liked: 75 times
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko


Return to Veeam Management Pack for Microsoft System Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests