Upgrade to SCOM 2012 RC failed

Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Upgrade to SCOM 2012 RC failed

Veeam Logoby PinkyDMT » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:45 pm

Hi,

trying to update an SCOM 2007 R2 environment to version 2012 RC failed because one Management Pack could not be updated. After doing some research it seems to be the nworks.VMware.VEM MP (version 5.7.0.1022
) which causes the problem:

Info::Updating Schema from v1 to v2
Error:failed to migrate old MPs. This is a fatal error

Anyone else who tried to update to SCOM 2012 RC and also failed ?
PinkyDMT
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:31 pm
Full Name: Thomas Peter

Re: Upgrade to SCOM 2012 RC failed

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:39 am

Hi - we are currently researching this to repro and analyse - I'll update this post with our findings ASAP. Thanks!
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Upgrade to SCOM 2012 RC failed

Veeam Logoby PinkyDMT » Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:50 am

Hi,
after doing some more tests it figured out that it's not the nworks MP which causes the problem.
Nevertheless it would be good to know that an in-place-update will work.
PinkyDMT
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:31 pm
Full Name: Thomas Peter

Re: Upgrade to SCOM 2012 RC failed

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:54 am

Hi, thanks for the update!

We will be testing upgrade anyway, but could you share what WAS the problem with your upgrade? How did you fix it?

Thanks!
Alec
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Upgrade to SCOM 2012 RC failed

Veeam Logoby PinkyDMT » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:03 am

Hi,
the problem was that the upgrade process of an SCOM 2007 R2 environment to 2012 RC failed with the error message that one the existing Management Pack could not be migrated to the new schema. Unfurtnatelly the log file is not showing which one. So doing a lot of test with different sets of MPs in my testlab I thought that it was the nworks one which caused the problem (without it the upgrade went through). But in the customer environment the upgrade still fails with and without the norks MPs. So doing more tests in my testlab (we are talking about 190 MPs) figured out that it also works with the nworks included. So I have no solution to share :(
Thomas
PinkyDMT
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:31 pm
Full Name: Thomas Peter


Return to Veeam Management Pack for Microsoft System Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests