Virtual Machines: Idle VM's

Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

Virtual Machines: Idle VM's

Veeam Logoby MartinH » Wed Aug 13, 2014 11:02 am

Hi,

I have a question with a VEEAM Vmware analysis report. We are trying to collect a report on Virtual machines - Idle VM's. I thought this report
would be the best to understand if we have VM's that are idle and we can remove. When I run the report I get "no data available - relevant data can not
be found. Sorry. Please adjust your parameters". I've checked that System Center is collecting CPU idle Pct as a metric for VM's - so I know the data is there -
just unsure why the report can't pull that data. Any help gratefully recieved. Thanks,
MartinH
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:28 am
Full Name: Martin Hodgson

Re: Virtual Machines: Idle VM's

Veeam Logoby sergey.g » Wed Aug 13, 2014 11:19 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Martin,

Make sure SCOM is collecting data for some time, because Data Warehouse will do the aggregation after a couple of hours and then days depending on level of aggregation.

I'm pretty much sure this report doesn't need Idle Pct, it uses CPU usage for Idle VMs calculation. Could you check that you are collecting usedPct for your VMs? Also you can try to set '0' as a parameter for other performance metric - in this case the report won't calculate them and we can isolate the issue to a specific metric which is not being collected in your environment. Also check that you have correct thresholds for CPU usage (this is a threshold to consider a VM Idle if usage is below this value for the specified amount of time)

Thanks.
sergey.g
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 453
Liked: 75 times
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko

Re: Virtual Machines: Idle VM's

Veeam Logoby MartinH » Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:27 pm

Hi Sergey,

Thanks for the reply. I know we are collecting usedPct, and have been for a number of months - so that's good. I went through and set 0 for every other metric. I also varied the theshold for CPU - still No Data Available came back. Instead of the Virtual Machine Group - I selected an individual VM to check whether the same message came back and it did. Any other ideas greatfully recieved.

Thanks, Martin.
MartinH
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:28 am
Full Name: Martin Hodgson

Re: Virtual Machines: Idle VM's

Veeam Logoby Yan Skoursky » Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:28 pm

Hi Martin,

Let's check if "Virtual Machines. CPU Performance History" report under "Veeam Vmware Performance History reports" folder can show you some data for cpuUsageMhz counter for the same period you used for Idle VM's.

If report is also empty I think it's time to create support case.

Regards,
Yan
Yan Skoursky
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:12 pm

Re: Virtual Machines: Idle VM's

Veeam Logoby MartinH » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:36 am

Hi Yan,

Thanks for the reply.

In Virtual Machines. CPU Performance History I don't see cpuUsage Mhz as a counter - i see cpu\%Processor Time, cpu\cpuIdlepct, and cpu\cpuUsedpct.

Martin.
MartinH
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:28 am
Full Name: Martin Hodgson

Re: Virtual Machines: Idle VM's

Veeam Logoby Yan Skoursky » Mon Sep 08, 2014 9:20 am

Hi Martin,

During the research it turned out some counters needed for the report were missing due to disabled collection rules.

Regards,
Yan
Yan Skoursky
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:12 pm


Return to Veeam Management Pack for Microsoft System Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests