VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Fri Dec 18, 2009 4:32 am

Hi,

I am new to nworks and have a quick question.
I get several times a day the messege "nworks:VMware Tools Heartbeat Status change to Yellow" after 10 or 15 Minutes the warning went awwy.
Looking on my ESX host I don not see something critcal throght this vms.

Have anyone else this issue or should I set the threhold to more than 10 Minutes?

Thanks for answers.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: VMware Tolls Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:07 am

Hello Arkadiusz,

Could you check that all VMware Tools are all up to date, also check the physical memory allocation for the virtual machines that raise that alerts?

Basically, we get all the info from VMware API. The alert is generated if the tools are not responding for 5-10 minutes as far as I remember, but sometimes VC may experinence some latency issues and still telling via API that the tools gone red/yellow.

We get this message from the Collector which tracks the change in VMwareVMStats.guestHeartbeatStatus field in VI API.

The trigger is related to VMware monitors and tell us that status. You should look at VM\Summary Tab\General\VMware Tools for full information, also all additional information you can see at VMwareVMStats.guestHeartbeatStatus using VMware MOB (Managed Object Browser)

To check that field status please follow these instructions:

1. connect to your VC via ip address using browser
2. then choose browse objects managed by VirtualCenter (it is located at the bottom, on the right corner)
3. after that choose "content ServiceContent: content"
4. then click to "rootFolder ManagedObjectReference:Folder:" your Value
5. next please choose "childEntity ManagedObjectReference:ManagedEntity" your Value


If you try to refresh the page you'll see that the status might change,that is actually the source where we get the info.

Thank you
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:53 am

Well under the mob following I see.
Under summary all Tools are ok.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:57 am

Arkadiusz,

I've deleted the mob output cause it's hard to read it here and it's too long, however have you had a chance to see this field changing while you refresh the page? Do you often see that alert coming? Do you see that for particular VMs or for all of them? You can also log a support ticket (support@veeam.com) with us, probably there will be additional information in the log files.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:51 am

Hello Vitaly,

just opened a servicerequest to support@veeam.com
Let's wait what happen.

I will give you feddback as far as I know something more.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:27 am

Hi,

get following answer from support.

Hello Arkadiusz,

The matter is that we do not generate this alert, we just trigger it when the status of VMWare tools in MOB changes. You may observe for some time the status of tools in MOB, refreshing the page and you will see that VMWare tools status changes. So, this should equip you well to open a support case with VMWare and find out what`s wrong with VMWare tools. Feel free to put us in CC for this.


Have I to monitor the status on the MOB page of my vcenter server?
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:12 pm

Arkadiusz,

Actually, we do monitor this field on all the changes via MOB by ourselves, so if you see any alert about VMware Tools status it means that VMwareVMStats.guestHeartbeatStatus has changed. Basically, there is no need in doing it by yourself (refreshing the page), you were advised to do that just to prove that we do not generate this alert about VMware Tools Status, cause we just inform you upon everything we get through VMware API by means of our Management Pack.
Generally, if you see this alert for only specifc VMs you may try to find what's in common between them, on the other hand if you see these alerts for random VMs, I also believe that VMware could give you more information on that and shed some light on the strange Tools behaviour.

By the way, what version of MP are you currently using? I'm asking this, cause we've increased the correlation Interval for VMware Tools Heartbeat in our latest update - Version 5.0.3 Build 248.

Thank you.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Wed Dec 23, 2009 6:14 am

Hi,

I am running the version of Management center version 5.0.2.194.
Should I am doing an upgrade.

Thanks for answer.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:11 am

Arkadiusz,

Yes, please do. After you are upgraded please monitor your virtual environment for a couple of days, and if you still see those alerts coming, please let me know.

Thank you.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:48 am

Hi,

what is the best way to update all the things?
Thank you in advanced!!
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:54 am

Essentially, you should re-install all the components one by one, and then re-import the MP itself to SCOM server.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:03 am

OK, a few minutes ago I did the following.
I have imported the MgMt Pack to scom, installed all components one by one, rebooted the server and after that I could not connect to Management Center --> http://localhost:4430/.

Luckily I created a snapshot and couls role back to old version.

So the last state ist that I have only imported the MgMt Pack to the SCOm and all other products are based on the old version.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:05 am

Arkadiusz,

For detailed assistance please refer to our support team so they could assist you with the upgrade procedure, we can do a webex session if needed.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:13 am

Ok I've done so, thanks for you very fast answers!
Great job!
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:52 am

OK found the error and installation went fine.
Now I don't see the whole _Datacenter topology in my SCOM.

Have I to wait a few minutes until the scom collect all data once again??
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Next

Return to Veeam Management Pack for Microsoft System Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests