Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V
Post Reply
felyjos
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN
Contact:

VMware tools version

Post by felyjos » Feb 01, 2012 3:19 pm

Hello,

I have installed nWorks 5.7.
I am looking for a report/view about the VMware tools version?
Is it listed somewhere?

Thanks,
Dom

felyjos
Expert
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN
Contact:

Re: VMware tools version

Post by felyjos » Feb 02, 2012 8:36 pm

Hello,
I have the nWorks 5.7 management pack deployed and it clearly shows the VM Tools version under in the details view under monitoring, VMware virtual machine, _VMstate.
But It shows
- version 8300 in SCOM for a local about Version 8.3.12, build 493255 (this one seems showing a partial version)
or
- version 213532 for a local about Version 3.5.0, build-213532 (this one is showing the build number)
anything wrong or was it a chnage within the version in VMtools and MPs?
Thanks,
Dom

Alec King
Veeam Software
Posts: 882
Liked: 158 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: VMware tools version

Post by Alec King » Feb 09, 2012 6:40 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Dom,

we do rely on the VMTools version as provided by vCenter, through the VMware API. We did not change our method of collecting this between 5.6 and 5.7 nworks.

However a topolgy rebuild will make sure that all your VM properties are refreshed and current. Could you press the 'Rebuild Full Topology' button in the nworks UI (select root node of Enterprise Manager tree), wait for rebuild to complete, then check the VMTools version again? Let us know how it goes!

Cheers
Alec

ArunJawalkar
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2018 12:38 pm
Full Name: Arun J
Contact:

Re: VMware tools version

Post by ArunJawalkar » Oct 09, 2018 12:42 pm

How can I have an alerting system in VEEAM for VMs with different\lower VMware tools version.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 33
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: VMware tools version

Post by wishr » Oct 10, 2018 12:55 pm

ArunJawalkar wrote:
Oct 09, 2018 12:42 pm
How can I have an alerting system in VEEAM for VMs with different\lower VMware tools version.
Hi Arun,

Welcome to Veeam community forums and thank you for posting your question.

Are you looking for this kind of alert in our Management Pack for VMware for System Center Operations Manager? If so, we already have a view representing statuses of VMware Tools installed on the VMs. You can find this information in the "All VMs" view, "VMware Tools version" column. We get these statuses directly from VMware, so the detection itself is being done on the VMware end.

Currently, there is no alerting mechanism for outdated VMware Tools, because if you have, let's say 6000 VMs, you'll be flooded with these notifications that might be useless in certain situations.

Thanks,
Fedor

ArunJawalkar
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2018 12:38 pm
Full Name: Arun J
Contact:

Re: VMware tools version

Post by ArunJawalkar » Oct 11, 2018 12:06 pm

Hi Fedor,

I agree, but VMware tools version is very vital and there should atleast be a reporting for VMware tools with lower version in any VMware environment. I will until then look into "All VMs" view, "VMware Tools version" column.

Thank you for the first piece of information.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 33
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: VMware tools version

Post by wishr » Oct 11, 2018 12:12 pm

Dear Arun,

This VMware Tools Report is one of the features already listed in our backlog for future MP releases.

Thank you for the request and please stay tuned for updates!

Cheers,
Fedor

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest