Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6310
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by Shestakov » Feb 01, 2019 11:39 am

I see. Please let us know how it works once it's on again.
Thanks!

nickcasa3
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2016 3:01 pm
Full Name: nick casagrande
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by nickcasa3 » Feb 05, 2019 7:30 pm

I've let my VBR and VeeamOne server run for the past 5 days with 4vcpu each, i have a small 4 host environment with only a few jobs and my VBR server is still spiking quite a bit. Doesn't seem normal honestly. Ticket# is 03399451

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6310
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by Shestakov » Feb 06, 2019 12:09 pm

Thanks for the update, Nick.
Indeed 5 days should be enough to recollect data from 4 host environment.
Will see what support can find out.

joespirit88
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 04, 2017 12:53 pm
Full Name: Joe Spirit
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by joespirit88 » Feb 13, 2019 3:27 pm

So small update,
They think its an issue if you are running veeam one 9.5 update 4 with backup and replication 9.5 update 3.
I recieved a hotfix from support which i tested today for me it did drop the Veeam WMI Service usage however it seemed to cause the windows WMI Host provider service to spike its' cpu instead.
I'm just organising another webex with support currently

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6310
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by Shestakov » Feb 13, 2019 3:36 pm

Thanks for the update, Joe!
Just curious, why haven't you upgraded backup & replication 9.5 to update 4?

joespirit88
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 04, 2017 12:53 pm
Full Name: Joe Spirit
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by joespirit88 » Feb 13, 2019 4:40 pm

We wanted to give it a little bit of time to see if any other issues come out before upgrading.

Also we are currently going through parity intitialisation(painfully slow) after adding another 100TB to our backup drive which has had an impact on performance, we are waiting until this has finished so we can clearly see any issues and confirm that the 2 aren't related after an upgrade.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6310
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by Shestakov » Feb 15, 2019 3:39 pm

I've got it.
We have upgraded Veeam ONE-VBR interaction in update 4, so it will work much better when they are equally updated.
Thanks!

kritzinger
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 23, 2018 9:33 am
Full Name: Thomas Kritzinger
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by kritzinger » Feb 19, 2019 11:01 am

i have the same Issue.

I needed to Install VEEAM ONE 9.5 U4 because of Hyper-V CSV Data Collection Bug.
VEEAM Cloud Connect ist still at 9.5 U3a. There are too many known issues on update 4 for productive environment.

I had to remove the the Veeam CloudConnect Server from VEEAM ONE and lost all data collected from CloudConnect.
After this CPU utilization went down from 100% to 16% on CloudConnect Server.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6310
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: 9.5 update 4 High resource usage on Backup servers

Post by Shestakov » Feb 19, 2019 11:38 am

Thanks for the feedback, Thomas.
As stated above higher CPU usage is expected for the first time after the upgrade.You can contact technical support for the hotfix.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests