Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
EmergeTech
Service Provider
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 14, 2018 7:33 am
Full Name: Darryl Smith
Contact:

Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by EmergeTech » Jun 14, 2018 7:54 am 1 person likes this post

Hi all,

As a MSP, I'm attempting to use Veeam ONE to connect to all our customer servers running Veeam Backup and Replication so that I can monitor them all from one pane of glass and not have to remote into each individual server.

I've opened ports 135 and 445 on the customer's firewall to the server running Veeam B&R at the customer's site. However, when I try to add the server to Veeam ONE, I get the following error message:
Veeam ONE Monitor could not connect to <servername>. The object exporter specified was not found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070776)
The Firewall packet capture indicates that traffic to the customer B&R server is hitting the server on Port 135 without issue.

Any help to put me back on the right path and get this sorted would be greatly appreciative.

Thanks in advance.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8420
Liked: 615 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Dima P. » Jun 14, 2018 1:25 pm

Hello Darryl.

Can you please confirm that account your to access Veeam B&R server meets following requirements? Thanks

EmergeTech
Service Provider
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 14, 2018 7:33 am
Full Name: Darryl Smith
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by EmergeTech » Jun 15, 2018 1:49 am

Hi Dmitry,

I'm entering the credentials for the local administrator account on the remote server.

Cheers

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21395
Liked: 1273 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 18, 2018 2:15 pm

Does this happen on all Veeam backup servers? Can you please tell me if you're able to remotely connect to WMI of that backup server? If not, then make sure that this firewall configuration is also applied.

Jeffreym
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 01, 2018 2:54 am
Full Name: Jeffrey Marr
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Jeffreym » Jul 11, 2018 4:51 pm

Hi,
I work for an MSP as well and we were trying to do the same but was told but support that it was not possible. I would really be interested if you were able to get it working.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21395
Liked: 1273 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 11, 2018 6:41 pm

Hi Jeffrey,

That's absolutely possible. Can you please give me the case ID where you were told that it was not possible? Also can you please describe the network you have between your site and customers"? Do you have VPN connection between these sites?

Thanks!

Jeffreym
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 01, 2018 2:54 am
Full Name: Jeffrey Marr
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Jeffreym » Jul 12, 2018 1:19 pm

Hi,
Thanks for the reply, the case # was 3093497. There is no VPN connect between the sites. we have opened the requested firewall ports between us and them and locked them down to only respond to our WAN IP. No windows firewalls turned on. Is a VPN required to make it work?

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21395
Liked: 1273 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 12, 2018 4:00 pm

VPN will make the connection more secure and will not expose your backup server to the internet. Some companies have restrictions on this matter. The easiest way to check out if all ports are open or not is to run a WMI test which should show if you're able to connect to the remote server or not.

On a side note, can you please clarify the main use case for you to connect to these backup servers? Do you manage them? Do you need to check job states or there is something else you want to do?

Jeffreym
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 01, 2018 2:54 am
Full Name: Jeffrey Marr
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Jeffreym » Jul 12, 2018 5:16 pm

We are a MSP that provides managed and cloud backup to all of our clients. We currently us the VAC to manage the backups. we would like to use the reporting functions of the software to help us with being proactive with their environment. Do you have a certain test that's good to for the WMI testing?

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21395
Liked: 1273 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 12, 2018 7:03 pm

Got it! Well you can try to use a Wbemtest tool to verify this, but I'm pretty sure you will need to open way more dynamic ports to make it work. If you would like to have more visibility into customers infrastructures, then scheduling pre-built reports and dashboards might solve the case. All reports will land into your inbox and if there is an issue you will be able to RDP or use Remote backup console to fix the backup related problem.

Jeffreym
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 01, 2018 2:54 am
Full Name: Jeffrey Marr
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Jeffreym » Jul 13, 2018 2:14 pm

So your saying I need a VPN connection then, because the the dynamic port requirement?

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21395
Liked: 1273 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Connecting Veeam One to Remote Customer Server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 13, 2018 4:03 pm

Not sure about dynamic ports (need to verify that), but regardless of that, the backup server should have a public IP address and you should configure port forwarding/firewall rules on the gateway (customer site) to route traffic from the remote public network (your site) to that backup server. VPN will make your WAN connection act as if you're running both servers in one network.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests