CPU Ready report in milliseconds

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

CPU Ready report in milliseconds

Veeam Logoby Benyon35 » Mon May 14, 2012 4:01 pm

I would like to run a cpu READY report for my virtual machines over the past 24 hours.
How do I set this to report in milliseconds?
Benyon35
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 9:57 am
Full Name: Darren O'Flaherty

Re: CPU Ready report in milliseconds

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon May 14, 2012 4:15 pm

Hi Darren,

To generate a report for all VMs in your environment, you need to use Custom Performance report template -> choose VM object -> select CPU subsystem and pick a CPU Ready counter from a drop down list.

This report will show you Average, Minimum and Maximum values for CPU Ready measured in % (not milliseconds) for a defined period of time (select-able report parameter).

Hope this helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: CPU Ready report in milliseconds

Veeam Logoby mykl_74 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:11 pm

This vmtoday article has some nice charts to convert from % values to milliseconds etc.

http://vmtoday.com/2013/01/cpu-ready-re ... ce-charts/
mykl_74
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:39 pm
Full Name: Mike Barnes

Re: CPU Ready report in milliseconds

Veeam Logoby JWester » Wed May 15, 2013 1:24 pm

mykl_74 wrote:This vmtoday article has some nice charts to convert from % values to milliseconds etc.

http://vmtoday.com/2013/01/cpu-ready-re ... ce-charts/


Ah, thanks for the link.
So the "VM CPU ready" alarm in Veeam One doesn't take account of the number of vCPUs inside the VM - this explains the alarms I get from two 8 vCPU VMs.
JWester
Service Provider
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:56 am
Full Name: Joern Westermann

Re: CPU Ready report in milliseconds

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 15, 2013 1:40 pm

Correct, we do not collect data for individual CPUs of the VM, instead we query vCenter Server for a total usage of VM CPU, CPU ready and other counters.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: CPU Ready report in milliseconds

Veeam Logoby JWester » Thu May 16, 2013 11:44 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:Correct, we do not collect data for individual CPUs of the VM, instead we query vCenter Server for a total usage of VM CPU, CPU ready and other counters.

Yes, but an "over 25%" error is probably really an error for a 1 vCPU VM, but not for a 8 vCPU VM (which would be actual 3.125%).
JWester
Service Provider
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:56 am
Full Name: Joern Westermann

Re: CPU Ready report in milliseconds

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 16, 2013 1:56 pm

Agree... so it's the question of a proper threshold for VMs with multiple CPUs.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests