Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
marius roma
Expert
Posts: 450
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Credentials issues

Post by marius roma » Jul 15, 2019 2:03 pm

I'm installing Veeam ONE on a Windows Server 2016 server member of an AD domain.

The VMware VCSA is member of the same domain, let's say, mydomain.local.
The Veeam B&R server, however, is member of a workgroup, let's say myworkgroup.

I am unable to specify the credentials for the Veeam B&R server.
All the combinations I tested provide the same error, saying that the cedentials are not valid.
I added the local user on the Veeam server to the "Distributed COM Users" with no success.
The user is obviously member of the local Administrators group.

How can I bypass this problem?

Regards
marius

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 965
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Credentials issues

Post by wishr » Jul 15, 2019 2:33 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Mario,

Just to make sure, could you please specify what is the exact error you are facing and when it is happening? I.e. when you are trying to do what?

Thanks

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 450
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Credentials issues

Post by marius roma » Jul 15, 2019 2:54 pm

In Veeam ONE Monitor I try to "Add backup server" in Data Protection View.
I enter the IP address of the server, specify "Veeam backup & replication server" and check "Install Veeam ONE Agent".
I enter credentials as "x.y.z.t\username" or "hostname\username" or ".\username" ose simply "username" and I get the message "Veeam ONE Monitor could not connect to "x.y.z.t". Access Denied".
The Veeam B&R server is member of a workgroup.
Regards
marius

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 965
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Credentials issues

Post by wishr » Jul 16, 2019 9:11 am

Hi Mario,

Could you please make sure that the account used for connecting has all the required permissions and if the necessary ports are open? If no luck, please raise a support request so our engineers will be able to have a deeper look at the situation (don't forget to let us know your support case ID).

Thanks

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 450
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Credentials issues

Post by marius roma » Jul 18, 2019 4:16 pm 1 person likes this post

Many thanks, I set the permissions required as described in the suggested document and now it looks to work fine.
I am a little bit confused because in my firts attempt I simply added the user to the local Administrators group but it was not enough.
I hope it can be usefull for othjer people…
Regards
marius

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests