Dashboard Alarms sync with Monitor Alarms?

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Dashboard Alarms sync with Monitor Alarms?

Veeam Logoby Nobody » Thu May 24, 2012 6:49 am

Hi Everybody

We've disabled a few alarms inside the Veeam One Monitor because we don't need them.
For example the Guest Disk Space Alarm triggered for our backup disks - which is ok.
We fill these disk to the maximum...

Inside the Veeam One Monitor we have now everything green.

But if i take a look at the dashboard - which we would like to introduce to our management - i get 35 Warnings and 10 Criticals Alerts.
Does the Alert Count Dasboard sync the alarms out of the Monitor or will it generate it's own Alerts?

If it's having it's own alerts - where can they been modified or disabled?

I would like to avoid to show the dashboard with several critical alerts - while we tell everything is ok :mrgreen:

Best regards

Andy
Nobody
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:32 am
Full Name: Andreas Girrbach

Re: Dashboard Alarms sync with Monitor Alarms?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 24, 2012 7:52 am

Hi Andreas,

Alarms in Monitor Client and Alarms overview dashboard are retrieving the same set of data from our database, so they are always in sync.

Could you please tell me what widgets are you referring to? If you want to have an updated view in "Object State Overview" widget, then you should wait for a couple minutes (5 min) to get all object states updated. If you're referring to "Total Issues by Day" or "Top N Issues", then these widgets provide information about the health of your VI for the past week.

Keep in mind that disabling alarm in Monitor does not remove its history from the database, so I would suggest to tell your management that you HAD these problems before and NOW you've successfully resolved all of them ;)

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Dashboard Alarms sync with Monitor Alarms?

Veeam Logoby Nobody » Thu May 24, 2012 10:12 am

Solved - the Widget "Object State Overview" is not showing the current state - it's displaying the last 24h (or so).
In my case i had a few VMs which got a high CPU Usage and triggering the alert during the night.
Nobody
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:32 am
Full Name: Andreas Girrbach

Re: Dashboard Alarms sync with Monitor Alarms?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 24, 2012 11:27 am

The refresh interval for this widget should be 5 minutes, so I'm not sure why it took so long to display the actual data, but we'll try to reproduce your behavior.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Dashboard Alarms sync with Monitor Alarms?

Veeam Logoby rbrambley » Thu May 24, 2012 1:41 pm

Nobody wrote:Solved - the Widget "Object State Overview" is not showing the current state - it's displaying the last 24h (or so).
In my case i had a few VMs which got a high CPU Usage and triggering the alert during the night.


Check your Reporter collection schedule (Go into Configuration / Collection Jobs). When you install Veeam ONE the default collection is every night at 3 am. You can change this to collect new data more often, but the best you can get is every one 1 hr. This could significantly increase the size of your SQL database, so be sure you really want data collected that often. Reporter is not intended to be a real time monitoring tool so the sync is never going to be be exact with Monitor -which is real time.

You can also manually start a collection any time you like, so right before you show the Dashboard kick off a collection ... :mrgreen:
rbrambley
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 445
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:23 pm
Full Name: Rich Brambley

Re: Dashboard Alarms sync with Monitor Alarms?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 24, 2012 3:27 pm

Performance, events and alarms data on the dashboards does not depend on the collection jobs schedule in Reporter, as this data is collected by Monitor in real-time, so changing configuration collection job schedule will not help. I have asked our QC team to confirm this delay on the widget and I'll update this topic once I have more details.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests