Database Size for VeeamOne?

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Thu May 17, 2012 7:51 pm

Hello,

I am getting an issue with the VeeamOne Database:
Message
Could not allocate space for object 'monitor.HistoryTriggAlarm' in database 'VeeamOne' because the 'PRIMARY' filegroup is full. Create disk space by deleting unneeded files, dropping objects in the filegroup, adding additional files to the filegroup, or setting autogrowth on for existing files in the filegroup.

I tried to expand the VeeamOne data file but I am getting another error:
Alter failed fro database 'VeeamOne'

Create Database or Alter Database failed because the resulting cumulative database size would exceed your licensed limit of 10240 MB per database.

What exactly does this mean?

Thanks,
DOm
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 17, 2012 8:30 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Dom,

felyjos wrote:Create Database or Alter Database failed because the resulting cumulative database size would exceed your licensed limit of 10240 MB per database.

According to this error message you have exceeded the maximum allowed size for a database in SQL Server Express Edition.

Be aware that SQL Server 2008 R2 Express limits the size of the database by 10 GBs, so to resolve your issue you should either reconfigure Veeam ONE to use a full blown SQL Server or reduce the number of monitored objects.

By the way, how many hosts/VMs and datastores are you currently monitoring with Veeam ONE?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Thu May 17, 2012 8:41 pm

Data Center: 1
Hosts: 86
VMs: 718
Datastores: 108

Thanks!
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 17, 2012 8:45 pm 1 person likes this post

Well... that explains what's the problem, there are too many objects to fit into the database with 10 GBs max size. Do you have an existing full version of SQL Server to move your Veeam ONE database to?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Thu May 17, 2012 8:49 pm

Yes i have a Full Version of SQL Server 2008 Enterprise I could use. But if the database needs to grow a lot I would like to move it to the SQL Cluster already in place and previously used for Veeam reporter... is it something viable?

Thanks,
Dom
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 17, 2012 9:05 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes, why not ;)

If you decide to migrate Veeam ONE database to a new SQL Server, please look through this KB article that describes how to reconfigure Veeam ONE after moving its database to a new server: http://www.veeam.com/kb_articles.html/KB1599/

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby felyjos » Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:18 am

Hello,
I have SQL Server 2008 R2 installed 10.50.1600.1 and VeeamOne database is still refusing to go over the 10 Gb limit of the SQL Server 2008 eXpress any explanation?
ERROR.log
2012-09-18 17:13:42.86 Server Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 (RTM) - 10.50.1600.1 (X64)
Select @@version
(No column name)
Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 (RTM) - 10.50.1600.1 (X64) Apr 2 2010 15:48:46 Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation Express Edition with Advanced Services (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.1 <X64> (Build 7601: Service Pack 1) (Hypervisor)

Thanks,
DOm
felyjos
Expert
 
Posts: 285
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:46 pm
Full Name: Dominique DUCHEMIN

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:04 am 1 person likes this post

Hello Dom,

What edition of SQL Server 2008 R2 are you using to host Veeam ONE database? Based on the error message above, I can see that you're using "Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 Express Edition with Advanced Services", which explains why your database cannot grow over 10 GBs of max database size.

To resolve that you should be using either a full blown SQL Server Edition or change the number of objects being monitored.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] Veeam One Free Edition Collection Job Fail

Veeam Logoby Zarra » Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:17 am

Hello, this is my first post.
I am using the Veeam one free edition but the last days the task collection job finish with fail state.
In the file schedulingservice.log i see the following errors:

Exception Source: .Net SqlClient Data Provider
Exception Type: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException
Exception Message: Could not allocate space for object 'reporter.ObjectProperty'.'IDX_ModificationID' in database 'VeeamOne' because the 'PRIMARY' filegroup is full. Create disk space by deleting unneeded files, dropping objects in the filegroup, adding additional files to the filegroup, or setting autogrowth on for existing files in the filegroup.
Exception Target Site: OnError


Exception Source: .Net SqlClient Data Provider
Exception Type: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException
Exception Message: Could not allocate a new page for database 'VeeamOne' because of insufficient disk space in filegroup 'PRIMARY'. Create the necessary space by dropping objects in the filegroup, adding additional files to the filegroup, or setting autogrowth on for existing files in the filegroup.
The statement has been terminated.
Exception Target Site: OnError

Is a problem with the Sql 2005 Express but i have checked that the database have enabled "enable autogrowth".
Is there a solution to this problem?

Note: I don't have license to mount an instance of Sql 2005 Full. I'm monitoring one VC with seven hosts esx and a total of 219 VM.

Many thanks.

Zarra.
Zarra
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:36 am 1 person likes this post

Hello Zarra,

SQL Server 2005 Express edition has a limitation for the maximum size of the database. As far as I remember you can only grow up to 4 GBs and it looks like you've already reached this limit. If you do not have full SQL Server licenses, then I would recommend to migrate to SQL Server 2008R2 Express edition. This edition allows having databases of 10 GBs size, which should be enough for your environment.

P.S. Our support team can assist you with the migration process, you just need to log a support case on that.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Zarra » Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:44 am

Ok, I will try to install SQL Server 2008R2 Express edition, is valid this KB (http://www.veeam.com/kb_articles.html/KB1599/) for the migration?
I'll tell you the results.

Thank you very much.

Zarra.
Zarra
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:48 am 1 person likes this post

Yes, it is (if you're running Veeam ONE v6)!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby chillware » Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:48 pm

Is there a sql command to truncate old data from the db? I am up against the 10gb limit in sql express, I don't want to move the DB.. I'd prefer to truncate data say 6 months and older, how can I do that?

Thanks!
chillware
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:38 pm
Full Name: David McCoy

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:41 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi David,

We've got a support utility that can be used to change data retention policy, please contact our technical team for further instructions.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Database Size for VeeamOne?

Veeam Logoby Zarra » Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:24 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi David,

We've got a support utility that can be used to change data retention policy, please contact our technical team for further instructions.

Thanks!


Hi, I need this utility or how can i truncate my veeam one database, the database is full and veeam one is out of order.

Thanks in advance.

Zarra.
Zarra
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:57 am

Next

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests