Disk space alarms

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby brichardson1991_obk » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:04 am

Hi there,

I currently have a few alarms for low disk space. However they show the low disk space at the time of the alarm. Is there anyway without manually resolving and waiting for it to alarm again to see any changes to that disk.

For example

Data01 alarmed at 1% free (4.3GB)

We then manually added 10Gb, but it is still in alarm against the rule set.

I resolved the alarm

Alarm received for Data01 - free disk space is now 2% - 14.30Gb
brichardson1991_obk
Expert
 
Posts: 112
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:20 pm
Full Name: Ben Richardson

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:17 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Ben,

You can schedule a report that will show you how much free space you have on each guest disk. This report is called "Guest Disk Free Space Usage", please take a look at this report.

Let me know if that helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby brichardson1991_obk » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:25 am

Hi Vitaliy,

This is a helpful report. Thanks for that.

However what I'm after is the alarms to update so that we can see the change on the Veeam One monitor (all points back to my no mouse, no keyboard) screen only machine. And on e-mails so that we don't have to pro-actively clear the alarms or check the VM's frequently.
brichardson1991_obk
Expert
 
Posts: 112
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:20 pm
Full Name: Ben Richardson

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:34 am

If alarm updates itself, then it should auto-resolve due to change of the free space usage and then new alarm should be generated. Does this happen in your case or you need to do that manually?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby brichardson1991_obk » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:36 am

How do you make the alarm update itself? Is this possible?

If so how do I do this.
brichardson1991_obk
Expert
 
Posts: 112
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:20 pm
Full Name: Ben Richardson

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Aug 24, 2015 2:38 pm

Yes, if alarm is performance-based, it should update itself by default.
Could you specify the alarm we are talking about? Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby brichardson1991_obk » Mon Aug 24, 2015 2:39 pm

Guest Disk Space
brichardson1991_obk
Expert
 
Posts: 112
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:20 pm
Full Name: Ben Richardson

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 24, 2015 2:51 pm

If this alarm is not resolved automatically in your case, then can you please open a support case and let us know your case ID?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby brichardson1991_obk » Mon Aug 24, 2015 2:54 pm

They do resolve when the criteria is resolved.

What i want is that the alarm displays the current disk space, if possible rather than the disk space at the time of the alarm.

I understand if this isn't possible. I just would of thought it would send another trap to say that the size has changed even if it is still in warning/alarm.
brichardson1991_obk
Expert
 
Posts: 112
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:20 pm
Full Name: Ben Richardson

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:01 pm

The alarm is performance-based andd should be updated automatically.

Note that it calculates average performance of the last 5 minutes(by default) and checks if it`s under the predefined threshold. So once you get free space to make the instant value above the threshold, you may need to wait a couple of minutes to get the alarm autoresolved. Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:03 pm

brichardson1991_obk wrote:What i want is that the alarm displays the current disk space, if possible rather than the disk space at the time of the alarm.

I understand if this isn't possible. I just would of thought it would send another trap to say that the size has changed even if it is still in warning/alarm.

You can decrease "Delay,min" setting in the alarm rules to make it more sensitive.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby brichardson1991_obk » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:05 pm

The alarm i have in question will not resolve as it is still below the threshold (in alarm),however does have more diskspace than before (14gb now instead of 4). I want the alarm to re-trigger showing the new disk space instead, without making new rules
brichardson1991_obk
Expert
 
Posts: 112
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:20 pm
Full Name: Ben Richardson

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:16 pm

I see your point.
But this way you will have a bunch of similar alarms, since every alarm shows the time and value when it was triggered. If we update the value, it will show wrong time-value pair, if we update both time and value, you will loose the initial time the alarm was triggered. All seems less logical than the current behavior. What do you think?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:23 pm

brichardson1991_obk wrote:What i want is that the alarm displays the current disk space, if possible rather than the disk space at the time of the alarm.

Hmm... I have read your original use case once again, and it seems like you have VMs that will always have this alarm triggered? What if you just change the threshold for them?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Disk space alarms

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:29 pm

I thought the same as Vitaliy.
Note that if you are more interested in absolute values rather than relative, you can set the threshold in GBs for the alarm.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Next

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests