Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by hyvokar » Dec 21, 2015 12:34 pm

Hi!

I'd like to have an option supressing alarms when particular event happens (backup) AND still be able to supress alarms based on schedule. I guess this is not possible on current version.
So basically, change the radiobuttons to check boxes. Thanks :)
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7001
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by Shestakov » Dec 21, 2015 12:37 pm

Hi!
That sounds reasonable. We will take the opinion into account.
Thanks for the feedback!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23070
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 21, 2015 12:42 pm

Why not to include backup activity to the suppress period based on schedule? When you do you run your backup/replication jobs?

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by hyvokar » Dec 21, 2015 5:19 pm

On a larger backup jobs (containing multiple VMs) it's hard to say at what time an invidual vm would be processed.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23070
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 21, 2015 5:21 pm

Hmm... do you have any backup window defined? As a workaorund I was thinking to suggest to suppress all alarms during backup window, should do the trick.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by hyvokar » Jan 05, 2016 8:46 am

Hi!

In this case the backup Windows is pretty long, so I would not like to supress alarms for that long. It'd kinda defeat the purpose of having alarms.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23070
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 05, 2016 5:38 pm

Ok, but isn't suppressing alarms during backup (as per your original post) is essentially suppressing alarms during a backup window?

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by hyvokar » Jan 05, 2016 7:52 pm

No. My backup window (time allowed to make backups) 16hours. Backupjobs only take like 6-8hours.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23070
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feature request on supressing alarms

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 05, 2016 9:49 pm

Ah...thanks for clarification. In v9 there will be no check-boxes for this option, but as a workaround you can try to use the solution above (suppressing alarms for actual job running time). Thanks again!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest