Flash vs html5

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby frankive » Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:03 pm

Please confirm dashboard widget will be in html5/Ajax and not flash in v9? Crossing fingers....
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Nov 26, 2015 10:16 am

Hi Frank, Flash is not used for widgets in v9
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 26, 2015 10:55 am

What's the reason why you're asking this question? Just curious.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby frankive » Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:59 am

:)

The reason is that when i add the widget url to our sharepoint site it seems to be using Flash.
And we all know how the browsers are reacting to flash these days with warning and etc. Not a good customer experience in a ncie sharepoint site.

I am using v8 of course in this scenario right now which seems to be flash-based, correct?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 26, 2015 12:56 pm

Thanks for clarifications. Widgets do not use flash neither in v8, not in v9.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby frankive » Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:48 pm

Hmm, weird. When we insert f.ex: http://thecusteromesexternalipaddress:1 ... widgetId=5 is will load flash in 2 seconds on each customer when we implement it into sharepoint.
Could be something that the sharepoint.

Thanks for the feedback!
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby frankive » Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:54 pm

I follow this guide: http://veeampdf.s3.amazonaws.com/techni ... dKWJ4LE%3D

And it will show up with flash. Could someone verify this?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Nov 28, 2015 8:40 pm

Hello Frank,
Links you provided are not working.
Veeam ONE does use flash, but not for widgets.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby frankive » Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:06 pm

Ok. Will it stil use flash in v9?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:11 pm

Same as in v8, yes, but not for widgets. Do you have any problems with Reporter because of flash in current version?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby frankive » Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:42 pm

Not a direct problem but when we show our customers backupstate on our sharepoint site the web browsers seems to not be happy with all the flash elements (one flasheelement for each customer)
I have uploaded a image here that show or sharepoint during loading from the widgets from our customers site: http://postimg.org/image/j45fkk9hr/
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:48 pm

Is it how it looks like only during loading and once it`s loaded everything works with no issues?
Which browser was it? I`ve never observer it in my labs, by the way.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby frankive » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:00 pm

Yes, it will just be fore a couple of seconds, after that everything is fine.
I have reproduced it on 5 different workstations with both Windows and Linux as operatingsystem abd we have tried Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer as browsers.
I guess it can be that we not have an up to date flash player too, i will check that.

Anyway, not a particular fan of flash these days, doesn't look good when browsing from ipad f.ex :)
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:31 pm

Thanks for the feedback, Frank!
We will discuss flash pros and cons in our team. So far I haven`t heard any complains about that.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Flash vs html5

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:04 pm

Frank, just a quick update for you. Seems like there was obsolete check for Flash on the main page of Veeam ONE Reporter. We will try to squeeze in this change in v9, so you will not have this issue any more.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests