FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Veeam Logoby ijefferson » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:54 pm

Hi

I don't seem to be having much luck at the moment.

I had to restore some files to our Veeam B&R/One server and so I did so in the usual way.

Interestingly at the time the backup was taken the drive was low on space, which I fixed in time for the next backup.

When I did the FLR, Veeam One seems to have picked up the path that it used and detected it was low on space. Now when I resolve the alarm it reappears soon after with the same trigger.

Can I get Veeam One either to ignore the FLR path for volumes or just remove the erroneous data that exists for this server at the moment?

Thanks
ijefferson
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:53 am
Full Name: Ian Jefferson

Re: FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Veeam Logoby ijefferson » Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:05 pm

Never mind. Posted this and then inspiration hit.

Ran an empty File Level Restore job from a backup after the space issue was resolved and a couple of minutes later the alarm resolved it's self.

I do find it odd that Veeam One would pick up the File Level Restore path and report on that metric as well as the live VM.

Thanks :)
ijefferson
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:53 am
Full Name: Ian Jefferson

Re: FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:00 am

Hi Ian,

Nice workaround, very smart! But I would stull expect FLR path to be removed from VM configuration once the volume you restore files from is unmounted. Be aware that we retrieve this kind of information via VMware Tools, so the first thing that I would check is the health state and the version of these tools on the backup server.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Veeam Logoby ijefferson » Tue Nov 12, 2013 2:46 pm

Hi Vitaliy

I've just checked the server and VMTools are are reporting as running, upto date and reporting back as healthy.

The version we are currently running on is 8.6.10 build 913593, which I'm presuming corresponds to the version of vCenter we are on which is 5.0 update 2.

Thanks. :)
ijefferson
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:53 am
Full Name: Ian Jefferson

Re: FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Nov 13, 2013 6:01 pm

Next time you see it, please contact our technical team to verify what configuration this VM has in Managed Object Browser. I believe that information about mounted volume might not be cleared in a timely manner for some reason and our engineers would be able to detect that.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Veeam Logoby ijefferson » Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:32 pm

Well I've had the same occur with a different VM this time so will open a case tomorrow about it.

Thanks. :)
ijefferson
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:53 am
Full Name: Ian Jefferson

Re: FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:47 pm

Ian, I would appreciate if you could update this topic with your ticket number, so I could also track it.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: FLR Volume collected in VeeamOne

Veeam Logoby ijefferson » Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:44 am

Hi Vitaliy

I've opened the case now, case number 00481886

Thanks

Ian
ijefferson
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:53 am
Full Name: Ian Jefferson


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests