Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
mdiver
Service Provider
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Contact:

Handling of agent->instance migrated licenses with VeeamONE

Post by mdiver » Jul 22, 2019 2:56 pm

For the second time now we ran into a situation with a customer after his agent licenses were being automatically upgraded to instance base during U4 GA.

All his active legacy "server agent" licenses (subscription) used to be merged to the VAS socket license.
Therefore they could be used together with VBR to backup physical machines to the same VBR server.

After the automatic upgrade of the licenses in the Veeam license portal to the instance based model we could still merge the license to the VAS license as before.

But there is a huge difference now: we can not use the VAS license to run VeeamONE any longer as it complains that we lack the monitoring functionality now.
This differentiation was included as "monitoring" flag in the new license model.

With a migrated license this to me is not logical. I should get the flag by default.
Sales now says they should upgrade the instances to VAS instance which are more expensive.
But the customers had the functionality before and they are still well within the subscription period.
So it was actually taken away from a running license.

In a mixed surrounding (socker/instance) the instances are obiously used to backup physical machines or maybe SQL clusters in cluster already licensed socket wise.
Oviously not easy to solve, but someone must have thought of this before the agent->instance switch.
Or is there already a way to circumvent that?

Thanks,
Mike

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6830
Liked: 696 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Handling of agent->instance migrated licenses with VeeamONE

Post by Shestakov » Jul 23, 2019 6:51 am

Hello Mike,
Did the customer use same VAS license for both VBR and ONE?
After the merge, Veeam ONE doesn't accept license at all or it just doesn't monitor the agents?
Since you have paid for not VBR socket, but VAS socket license, monitoring of VMs should be available for you.
Thanks!

mdiver
Service Provider
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Handling of agent->instance migrated licenses with VeeamONE

Post by mdiver » Jul 24, 2019 2:35 pm

Customer always had 16 sockets VAS Enterprise and also 9 server agent sockets with active subscription.
Up till U3 we could Import both liceses to VBR and ONE and both worked flawlessly. Veeam ONE could monitor vSphere as well as the VBR server.

With the now mandatory U4 licenses that changed.
The 9 server agents were automatically converted to 10 instances Enterprise Plus. We did not choose that. It was just done automatically in the portal.
Now we could merge the instances to the socket license and Import it to VBR which works as expected. But VeeamONE complains not to be able to federate the VBR Server (vSphere works) because of a lack of monitoring functionality in the license.

We opened a case with license support (#03668851). But so far they could not really help. I guess they did not really understand my problem.

Regards,
Mike

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6830
Liked: 696 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Handling of agent->instance migrated licenses with VeeamONE

Post by Shestakov » Jul 25, 2019 8:46 am

Thanks for the explanation MIke,
Prior to update 4, Veeam ONE had only one report for computers protected by Veeam Agents, so we didn't charge for the agents monitoring.
In Update 4 we added 3 more reports for agents, alarms, Business View grouping option etc. For that reason Veeam ONE now requires the instances to be with monitoring included.
However, it's not mandatory to have agent instances with monitoring to be able to monitor and report against VMs, since the customer still have 16 sockets VAS Enterprise.
That includes VMs protection data as well.
I will ask support managers to escalate the case.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests