Ignore all snapshot alerts for VMware View replica's

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Ignore all snapshot alerts for VMware View replica's

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:28 pm

I have a VMware View environment which creates a replica virtual machines based off a snapshot that is randomly named. I do not want to be alerted of snapshot ages on any machine named replica-*

Image

I know I can exclude alerts for a specific replica object, but I want to ignore alerts for all of the replicas.
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Ignore all snapshot alerts for VMware View replica's

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:44 pm

Hello,
I would suggest to choose the alarm > click on "Assignment" tab > "Add..." button and choose objects to be assigned to the alarm from Infrastructure tree or Business View.
Does it work for you?
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Ignore all snapshot alerts for VMware View replica's

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:52 pm

I guess I'm not following you.

Also the replica's I listed in the screenshot will not be there in a month, there will be other replica's there, but named differently.
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Ignore all snapshot alerts for VMware View replica's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:20 pm

What is the target host for these replicas?

I guess Nikita is trying to say that if you create a BV group that will put all VMs containing "replica" in their name into a separate group, this should allow you to assign this alarm to all other VMs in the VI and ignore VMs that contain "replica" suffix.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Ignore all snapshot alerts for VMware View replica's

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:55 am

Vitaliy is correct.
Where do you have these replicas appearing?
If you have them in a separate host or resource pool, you can just exclude it for the particular alarm. Otherwise you can apply a rule in BV, as Vitaliy mentioned. Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests