Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
WORKS2019
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 4 times
Joined: May 27, 2019 4:25 pm
Full Name: RJ Cowan
Contact:

Installation and Configuration Question

Post by WORKS2019 » Jul 31, 2019 5:50 pm

Hi, this is my first installation of Veeam One and while doing so I have several questions.

Veeam Backup and Recovery is on different BDR servers in different physical locations that manages backups. Everything is working fine.

On a computer at my office I installed Veeam One expecting to connect to each client running Veeam Backup and Recovery. I believe I can push the Veeam One agent to each server running Backup and Recovery.

First question is this a correct way to use Veeam One to have a portal to manage the overall health of my Veeam backups including offiste backups to a Veeam certified data center?

Questions about the ports that are required.
- 2805 Default port used for communication with Veeam ONE agent installed on Veeam Backup & Replication server. No issues with this.
- 445 Required to access remote registry. See below.
- 135, 145 Required to gather CPU and memory performance data from Veeam Backup & Replication infrastructure servers.
- 135 Required to collect data from Veeam backup servers through WMI. See below.

How secure is it to allow remote access to the registry and WMI?

As it stands now I can't access any BDR's without getting a connection error.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3681
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Installation and Configuration Question

Post by HannesK » Aug 01, 2019 7:44 am

Hello,
first question: it's probably the most flexible way with all the reports. "correct" / "wrong", well, I don't believe there is a correct / wrong... whatever you prefer.
How secure is it to allow remote access to the registry and WMI?
as secure as Microsoft implemented the protocols. :-)

Best regards,
Hannes

WORKS2019
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 4 times
Joined: May 27, 2019 4:25 pm
Full Name: RJ Cowan
Contact:

Re: Installation and Configuration Question

Post by WORKS2019 » Aug 05, 2019 8:44 pm

All the ports are open and I can't get Veeam One to connect to a server running Veeam Backup and Replication.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3681
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Installation and Configuration Question

Post by HannesK » Aug 06, 2019 6:23 am

also the dynamic ones? I suggest to contact support that they check the log files which port is missing. Please post the case number here for reference

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest