Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
risingflight
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 29, 2015 6:04 pm
Full Name: RisingFlight

license

Post by risingflight » Feb 05, 2016 6:13 pm

Hows the Veeam Licensing calculated, Is it processor based?

For one of my ESXi host i can see below details, i.e it has 4 processors, How many license should i purchase for the below server. I want to just cross check before purchasing.

Processor 1 : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-4650 0 @ 2.70GHz Execution Technology : 8/8 cores; 16 threads
Processor 2 : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-4650 0 @ 2.70GHz Execution Technology : 8/8 cores; 16 threads
Processor 3 : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-4650 0 @ 2.70GHz Execution Technology : 8/8 cores; 16 threads
Processor 4 : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-4650 0 @ 2.70GHz Execution Technology : 8/8 cores; 16 threads

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5222
Liked: 450 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: license

Post by P.Tide » Feb 05, 2016 6:56 pm

Hi,

Veeam is licensed per-socket. On your server there are 4 physical CPUs so you can purchase 2x2 socket bundles and you are good to go.

Thank you.

risingflight
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 29, 2015 6:04 pm
Full Name: RisingFlight

Re: license

Post by risingflight » Feb 05, 2016 7:24 pm

Thanks alot

Example 1 : i have 4 processors and 8 cores per processor, So i have to go with 4
Example 2 : i have 4 processors and 12 cores per processor.So i have to go with 4

I was confused i thought it was core based.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22862
Liked: 1538 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: license

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 07, 2016 6:41 pm

Hi,

It doesn't matter how many cores you have, right now you will need a license key for each socket/physical processor.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 9 guests