license

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

license

Veeam Logoby risingflight » Fri Feb 05, 2016 6:13 pm

Hows the Veeam Licensing calculated, Is it processor based?

For one of my ESXi host i can see below details, i.e it has 4 processors, How many license should i purchase for the below server. I want to just cross check before purchasing.

Processor 1 : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-4650 0 @ 2.70GHz Execution Technology : 8/8 cores; 16 threads
Processor 2 : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-4650 0 @ 2.70GHz Execution Technology : 8/8 cores; 16 threads
Processor 3 : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-4650 0 @ 2.70GHz Execution Technology : 8/8 cores; 16 threads
Processor 4 : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-4650 0 @ 2.70GHz Execution Technology : 8/8 cores; 16 threads
risingflight
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:04 pm
Full Name: RisingFlight

Re: license

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Feb 05, 2016 6:56 pm

Hi,

Veeam is licensed per-socket. On your server there are 4 physical CPUs so you can purchase 2x2 socket bundles and you are good to go.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: license

Veeam Logoby risingflight » Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:24 pm

Thanks alot

Example 1 : i have 4 processors and 8 cores per processor, So i have to go with 4
Example 2 : i have 4 processors and 12 cores per processor.So i have to go with 4

I was confused i thought it was core based.
risingflight
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:04 pm
Full Name: RisingFlight

Re: license

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:41 pm

Hi,

It doesn't matter how many cores you have, right now you will need a license key for each socket/physical processor.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests