Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
george.jame
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 05, 2020 6:14 am
Contact:

Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by george.jame »

As i want just monitor my veeam backup&replication via veeamone , for do that is that necessary to add My vcenter infrastructure to veeamone or can add just veeam backup & replication to veeamone ? because I don't want monitor my vCenter infrastructue and just need Veeam backup&replication jobs with other stats

BR

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi George,

You need to register the vCenter Server in both applications and select the " data protection mode only" for Veeam ONE.

Thanks!

george.jame
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 05, 2020 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by george.jame »

1- Is that your means had to select Backup data only ?
2- Can I change to this mode after veeamone installation ?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

1. Yes.
2. Yes :)

george.jame
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 05, 2020 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by george.jame »

1- Actually now I removed vCenter infrastructure from veeamone and now just veeam backup & replication added to veeamone but most of backup reports not work correctly would your please say how can change mode to Backup Data ?

2- Is that ok with changing mode or had to remove and reinstall veeamone ?

george.jame
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 05, 2020 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by george.jame »

Also in data protected mode such as other modes can get all type of reports and monitoring backup status?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

1. Removing the vCenter Server is not needed, otherwise, some Veeam B&R related reports will not work. Please register the vCenter Server back in Veeam ONE.
2. It is ok to change the mode on the fly, without reinstalling Veeam ONE. You will get all backup-related reports, but not reports about your virtual infrastructure.

george.jame
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 05, 2020 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by george.jame »

1- would you say how can change to backup mode ?
2- I just want get report about my backup and backup infrastructure , hence is that necessary add vcenter to veeamone?
3- can i get reports such as :

backup job
number of backups or restore points for each vm
size of each restore point
..

.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

1. Yes, sure. Open Veeam ONE settings tool (as I referenced above) and make a change > Appendix A. Veeam ONE Settings Utility

2. Yes, otherwise, you will not get a list of unprotected VMs. When you select the data protection mode only, Veeam ONE collects only inventory info (very light-weight) required by predefined reports.

3. Yes ;)

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Monitor Veeam backup replication jobs and other stats

Post by Shestakov »

2. I would say it depends on what kind of reporting you are interested in. If you need reports about backup infrastructure only, you can leave without adding VI. However, if you need to know which VMs are still unprotected, as Vitaliy mentioned above, you need to add VI.
3. Check such reports as Job History, VM Backup Compliance Overview and VM and Computer Protection History

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests