Monitoring Datacenter across WAN

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Monitoring Datacenter across WAN

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:17 pm

What is the best way to setup Veeam One Server & Client in this scenario?

vCenter in City1
3 ESXi Host Datacenter in City1
3 ESXi Host Datacenter in City2
Dedicated WAN link between City1 and City2

Case# 00832872
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: Monitoring Datacenter across WAN

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:17 pm

Hello,

Do you manage 3 ESXi hosts in City 2 via vCenter Server in City 1?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitoring Datacenter across WAN

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:40 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Do you manage 3 ESXi hosts in City 2 via vCenter Server in City 1?

That is correct.
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: Monitoring Datacenter across WAN

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Mar 20, 2015 9:34 pm

In this case you need to add your vCenter Serve (city 1) to Veeam ONE server which should be also installed in this site. Given that your WAN link is stable enough and your vCenter Server can get performance data from your hosts, you should be fine.

As to using Veeam ONE Monitor Client component, then it does not matter where you install it. You can use multiple-installations to monitor your virtual infrastructure.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitoring Datacenter across WAN

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:31 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:In this case you need to add your vCenter Serve (city 1) to Veeam ONE server which should be also installed in this site. Given that your WAN link is stable enough and your vCenter Server can get performance data from your hosts, you should be fine. As to using Veeam ONE Monitor Client component, then it does not matter where you install it. You can use multiple-installations to monitor your virtual infrastructure.

If we have the Client installed at both sites, does the Client in City2 communicate with the Hosts in City2 or the vCenter in City1?

Just wondering if there is any advantage to having a Client in City2.
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: Monitoring Datacenter across WAN

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 24, 2015 7:25 pm

Monitor Client communicates only with Veeam ONE server, in your case it will be City 1, it is just the question of flexibility. Think about Veeam ONE Monitor Client as something like vSphere Client (full-blown one). Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests