Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby ashleyw » Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:19 am

Hi,

We are seeing warnings like this on each of our hosts.
We are running Veeam One v7R2 patch.

Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.01" equal Unknown Sensor "CPU1 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.02" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.02" equal Unknown Sensor "CPU2 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.02" equal Unknown

The vCentreService Status page is all green.

Under each host, the Hardware Status page is all green – here is the information for the first of the two sockets (see screenshot)
Why is Veeam reporting the error above and how do we fix it? All I can do at the moment is to exclude the error.
We are running the latest vSphere/vCentre versions.
Any ideas?
thanks.

Image
ashleyw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 137
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:06 am

This issue should have been fixed in R2. So, kindly, open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly. Also, please, post the case number here, so that, we can follow the case.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby ashleyw » Fri Feb 07, 2014 1:01 am

thanks. Case # 00513851
I cheekily referred the support case back to this posting to save me having to specify the same information over again!
ashleyw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 137
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:35 am

Let’s wait and see what support team says about this issue. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby gholder » Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:13 pm

Getting the same error as well ....on a new R2 install, hosts are DELL r710's all status in vmware are green.

Description
Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.02" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.02" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.02" equal Unknown
gholder
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:08 pm
Full Name: Gary Holder

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:44 am

Gary, can you please also contact our technical team for further troubleshooting? I'm going to discuss this problem with our R&D team next week, so knowing your case ID would help.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby BHB3805 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:36 pm

I have the same issue also - ESXi 5.1.0 Build 1312873, Cisco UCS B230M1 - FW 2.1.3

Warning
2/5/2014 2:21:14 PM
Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.00" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.00" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU1 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.00" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-1 Cache DeviceID:1041.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-2 Cache DeviceID:1042.01" equal Unknown
Sensor "CPU2 Level-3 Cache DeviceID:1043.01" equal Unknown
BHB3805
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:45 pm
Full Name: Dan Andryszak

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:47 am

Yes, we are aware about this. This behavior occurs because VMware reports unknown status for these sensors due to "Read Policy" state.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby gholder » Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:18 am

Case ID: 00515478
gholder
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:08 pm
Full Name: Gary Holder

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby cmcknight » Wed Mar 05, 2014 4:54 pm

I am seeing this as well on a mix of Cisco C Series, B Series and R710s.. are we still calling support? I note you mentioned above that you "knew" about this so I didn't know if that meant a patch was imminent?

Thanks,
Charles
cmcknight
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 7:53 pm
Full Name: Charles McKnight

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:20 pm

Hello Charles,

We are still investigating with VMware on why they report unknown state for the sensor just because of the read policy status. Our dev team is currently working on possible ways to address this VMware behavior.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:00 am

Hi all,

Have you found a solution, I got the same on HP DL380 and CISCO UCS.....
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 14, 2014 11:41 am

As far as I'm concerned, the support team already has the solution for some of the problems related to unknown sensor state. So, kindly, open a ticket with them and let them confirm whether your issue is similar to those fixed.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Sensor "CPU1 Level-1 Cache DeviceID" warning

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:37 pm

In our next update we are going to suppress stateless sensors be default, currently you can turn off monitoring of these sensors via Hardware Tab in Monitor Client.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests