Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
matteu
Veeam Legend
Posts: 346
Liked: 45 times
Joined: May 11, 2018 8:42 am
Contact:

Sizing CPU and RAM

Post by matteu »

Hello,

I see in the documentation for VeeamOne application CPU is 4 min and 8 recommended and SQL CPU is 4 min and 8 recommended until 100 hosts.
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/one/d ... mendations

If I have a standalone VeeamOne server because I have arround 10 hosts, I need 8 CPU min and 8Go RAM min right or 16CPU + 16 Go RAM recommended right ?

Thank you for the confirmation

chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 325
Liked: 70 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: Sizing CPU and RAM

Post by chris.childerhose » 1 person likes this post

If you take into account the requirements on that page for both the VONE server plus the SQL piece I would add them together to give you the 16/16 to ensure you have the resources for an all-in-one solution. You also need to account for the OS that you install VONE on as that needs CPU/RAM as well on top of the VONE requirements too.
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

matteu
Veeam Legend
Posts: 346
Liked: 45 times
Joined: May 11, 2018 8:42 am
Contact:

Re: Sizing CPU and RAM

Post by matteu » 1 person likes this post

Thanks for your answer

chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 325
Liked: 70 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: Sizing CPU and RAM

Post by chris.childerhose »

Not a problem at all. We use VONE to monitor servers but have a separate SQL Server for our environment which is very large.
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

wishr
Expert
Posts: 3077
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Sizing CPU and RAM

Post by wishr »

Hi Matteu,

You may start with 8 CPU total. 4 for the Veeam ONE server and 4 for the database. Then, if you experience any performance drops, increase that amount. Also, if you expect a significant future growth, I would definitely start with a dedicated machine for housing Veeam ONE database.

Thanks

jorgedlcruz
Veeam Software
Posts: 721
Liked: 377 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 6:54 pm
Full Name: Jorge de la Cruz
Contact:

Re: Sizing CPU and RAM

Post by jorgedlcruz » 1 person likes this post

Hello,
A great more detailed set of requirements can be found here, with SQL sizing, MB per managed vCenter, sizing per workloads added, etc. Bear in mind all sums up.

I would totally use this link in order to size it properly.
Jorge de la Cruz
Senior Analyst, Product Management | Veeam ONE @ Veeam Software

@jorgedlcruz
https://www.jorgedelacruz.es / https://jorgedelacruz.uk
vExpert 2014-2021 / Nutanix Technology Champion 2018-2019 / InfluxAce

matteu
Veeam Legend
Posts: 346
Liked: 45 times
Joined: May 11, 2018 8:42 am
Contact:

Re: Sizing CPU and RAM

Post by matteu » 1 person likes this post

Thanks for both answer :)

chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 325
Liked: 70 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: Sizing CPU and RAM

Post by chris.childerhose »

That is a great link from Jorge for sure.
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests