Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
BradI
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2011 1:11 am
Full Name: Brad Isaac
Contact:

Sockets Exceeded Emails driving me crazy

Post by BradI » Oct 16, 2017 4:38 pm

My client purchased Veeam Business Essentials Enterprise to monitor 2 Hosts with 2 sockets each. Our purchase was for 4 sockets in all. There is a 3rd host only running vCenter and VeeamBackup. I do not need to monitor that host or those VMs. I have followed https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/one/d ... tml?ver=95 to remove that host multiple times. Yet overnight, I am getting repeated “Sockets exceeded” messages. Is it because VeeamBackup is on that unmonitored Host?

What needs to be done to fix this?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5968
Liked: 519 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Sockets Exceeded Emails driving me crazy

Post by Shestakov » Oct 16, 2017 5:02 pm

How many sockets Veeam Backup Server is managing? Do you have only one backup server under Protection View in Veeam ONE?
Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21527
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Sockets Exceeded Emails driving me crazy

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 16, 2017 7:30 pm

How does you rule look like? Do you see this host as excluded in the Infrastructure Tree of Veeam ONE Monitor?

BradI
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2011 1:11 am
Full Name: Brad Isaac
Contact:

Re: Sockets Exceeded Emails driving me crazy

Post by BradI » Oct 18, 2017 2:41 pm

Shestakov wrote:How many sockets Veeam Backup Server is managing? Do you have only one backup server under Protection View in Veeam ONE?
Thanks!
We have a license for 4 sockets. The two hosts I want to monitor have 2 sockets each. So we have 4 sockets.

BradI
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2011 1:11 am
Full Name: Brad Isaac
Contact:

Re: Sockets Exceeded Emails driving me crazy

Post by BradI » Oct 18, 2017 2:44 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:How does you rule look like? Do you see this host as excluded in the Infrastructure Tree of Veeam ONE Monitor?
Yes, but today I was digging around and found a local datastore on the host I do not want to monitor with a check mark to be monitored. Could that be causing it the sockets Exceeded messages? I unchecked that datastore and saved the rule again. Then I added an exclude rule where I picked the Host and datastore I do not want monitored and set it for unmonitored. Think that will do it?

Oddly, I only get this messages in the middle of the night while backups are taking place, even though I have it set to suppress alarms during backup intervals.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5968
Liked: 519 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Sockets Exceeded Emails driving me crazy

Post by Shestakov » Oct 18, 2017 4:42 pm

Datastores monitoring should not influence the license usage, it`s all about hosts. Looks like you are doing everything correct, so I would suggest to contact Veeam support.
Let us know your support case number once you get it.
Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests