unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby GL@MO » Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:28 am

Good morning all together,

just a minor issue so I would ask here first instead of creating a ticket.
I installed Veeam One Patch yesterday and my local client of Veeam ONE Monitor is unpatched at the moment.
When I try to login into the client it offers me to update automatically but nothing happens after clicking "OK". No setup, no transfer (like with Veeam Backup Console).
There is no difference if I try to login with Administrator or my personal user account

Anybody else seeing this behaviour?

Guido
GL@MO
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:04 pm
Location: Vreden, Germany

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby GL@MO » Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:00 am

OK, but clicking "Ok" doesn't get the client get to work.

whats the workaround? manually patch with the same exe I use for the server?
GL@MO
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:04 pm
Location: Vreden, Germany

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:26 am

Sorry for confusion.
You are correct, to update the client, you need to run the update manually using the .exe file.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:31 am

Yes, Veeam ONE Monitor Client has to be updated manually as its current code is not compatible with GA version of the server (due to lots Monitor Client performance optimizations made in update 1):
Release Notes wrote:This update should be applied to the Veeam ONE server, as well as remote systems with the Veeam ONE Monitor Client.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Matts N » Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:39 pm

Hello!
I am trying to upgrade the Monitor Client to Update 1, but the install stops with the message "Veeam ONE 9.0 Update 1 cannot be installed. Please close Veeam ONE Monitor client and try again.". Pretty straight forward, only problem is I don't have the Monitor Client started so there is nothing to close...

Running Windows 10, this client not in the same domain as the Veeam ONE server configured in the settings of the client.

// Matts
Matts N
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:41 am
Full Name: Matts Nilsson

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Apr 09, 2016 7:34 am

Hello Matts,
Have you checked if the corresponding service is running?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Matts N » Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:37 am

Hello!
I have three services running, since I also have the VBR Remote Client installed:
Veeam Data Mover Service
Veeam Installer Service
Veeam Mount Service

Same behaviour regardless of services running or stopped.
Matts N
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:41 am
Full Name: Matts Nilsson

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:35 am

Those services are not Veeam ONE specific, so should not impede the upgrade.
Have you tried to install the upgrade using .exe file as suggested above?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Apr 13, 2016 4:35 pm

Matt, do you have any running processes with this name by any chance - "Monitor.exe"?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby finnzi » Sat May 07, 2016 9:29 am

I had the same problem.

There were two other processes named "monitor.exe". After killing them the .exe installer was able to complete the installation :-)

Bgrds,
Finnzi
finnzi
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:41 am
Full Name: Finnur Orn Gudmundsson

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun May 08, 2016 11:24 am

Finnzi, thanks for the update. Usually this is indeed an issue, a couple of other processes named "Monitor.exe" that prevent from updating our Veeam ONE thick client.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Matts N » Mon May 09, 2016 6:47 am

Sorry for a late reply. I was running the downloaded VeeamONE_9.0.0.2088_Update1.exe from my computer when I had the problem. But, as for others above, killing Monitor.exe solved the problem. :)
Matts N
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:41 am
Full Name: Matts Nilsson

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon May 09, 2016 6:51 am

Thanks for updating the thread, Matts. Glad the issue has been solved!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby readie » Mon May 16, 2016 3:38 pm

I've been trying the auto-update all day, rebooting my PC, trying other things (suspending AV protection) . . . even logged a support call. Now just found this, and all is working perfectly.
Perhaps there could have been a ReadMe file with the update exe to explain this?
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: unable to update Veeam ONE Monitor Client automatically

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon May 16, 2016 4:12 pm

Hello Bob,
We usually create KB articles instead, the same page where you usually get the installation file.
However, let`s see if more people think we need to provide readme.txt
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Next

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests