Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Marc.H » Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:27 am

Hi,

I am trying to upgrade Veeam One Monitor Free Edition from 6.5 to 7.0 but the installer of 7.0 does not allow me to choose FREE Functionality mode during install.

Please help.

Regards
Marc
Marc.H
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:51 am
Full Name: Marc Holbe

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby bavaria32 » Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:38 am

Same issue here.
Also it will not accept a new V7 free license file.

best rgds

Erik S-H
bavaria32
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:34 am
Full Name: Erik Schlytter-Henrichsen

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:59 am

Did you use Veeam ONE 6.5 in a free mode with a free license key or it was installation without any license keys at all?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Marc.H » Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:05 am

Hi Vitaly,

I am not sure. I think I used it without license key. However when I look under Licensing information in 6.5 it tells me free mode.

Regards
Marc
Marc.H
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:51 am
Full Name: Marc Holbe

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby bavaria32 » Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:13 am

Dear
In my case it was a working 6.5 with free license file installed. If not OK to contribute in this thread with information, but rather start own thread, pls advice

rgds
erik S-H
bavaria32
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:34 am
Full Name: Erik Schlytter-Henrichsen

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:47 pm

Marc and Eric,

Do you have all-in-one setup or you have different components installed on different machines?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Marc.H » Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:51 pm

Hi Vitaly,

I have on this Box Veeam Monitor Server and Veeam Monitor Client in free mode. Additiona I have Veeam B&R installed with a License - but I only wanted to update Veeam One Monitor free edition.

Regards
Marc
Marc.H
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:51 am
Full Name: Marc Holbe

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:56 pm

Marc.H wrote:I have on this Box Veeam Monitor Server and Veeam Monitor Client in free mode.

What about our reporting interface (website)? Is it installed on the same machine?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Marc.H » Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:03 pm

Well - I don't think I have reporter installed
Marc.H
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:51 am
Full Name: Marc Holbe

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:10 pm

In order to upgrade to v7 in the free mode, all components should be installed on the same machine, distributed installation is part of paid/full edition only. It seems like you've previously been using Veeam ONE in a trial mode and then switched to free, right? If this is the case, then you need remove all Veeam ONE components on this server and perform a clean installation pointing to existing database, this would allow you to retain all historical data.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Marc.H » Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:16 pm

Hi Vitaly,

I could well be that it was once a trial and then switch to free - I cannot remember. I will give it a try deinstalling and pointing the new installation to the existing database and report in this topic.

Thanks for your help so far.

Regards
Marc
Marc.H
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:51 am
Full Name: Marc Holbe

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby bavaria32 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:06 am 1 person likes this post

Ohh, dear.
This is embarrasing. I tried to install/upgrade on a server which only has the client component installed. Now installing on the server where Veeam actually runs, and FREE func mode is available.
Inplace upgrading went without a hitch.

I'm very sorry for the confusion.

rgds
Erik S-H
bavaria32
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:34 am
Full Name: Erik Schlytter-Henrichsen

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Marc.H » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:13 am

deinstalling and pointing the new installation to the existing database did work for me.

Regards
Marc
Marc.H
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:51 am
Full Name: Marc Holbe

Re: Upgrade Veeam One Free from 6.5 to 7

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:37 pm

Yes, I knew it should be easy. Good to know you're up and running guys, and already exploring our new predefined backup reports ;)
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests