Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnected

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnected

Veeam Logoby Marc.H » Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:14 am

Hi,

I upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a today and since that the Veeam Monitor Client states the database is disconnected.

Nothing on the DB has changed.

Any hint?

Regards
Marc
Marc.H
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:51 am
Full Name: Marc Holbe

Re: Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnect

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:21 am

Hi Marc,

Are you able to connect to the database using SQL Management Studio and the service account you've specified during setup?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnect

Veeam Logoby Marc.H » Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:25 am

Hi Vitaly,

first of all the version 7.0 was working fine. The problem occurred after the update.
When I start the Veeam One Config Tool and do a test on the database connection it says all fine.

Regards
Marc
Marc.H
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:51 am
Full Name: Marc Holbe

Re: Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnect

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:29 am

In this case I would suggest reviewing connection debug log with our support team, as there could be various reasons for the connection problem.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnect

Veeam Logoby mikegmi » Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:51 am

I'm having the same problem after an upgrade from both 6.0 to 7.0 R2, and 7.0 to 7.0 R2. About to log a support case.
mikegmi
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:01 pm
Full Name: Mike Bordignon

Re: Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnect

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:10 am

Please post your case ID for future reference. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnect

Veeam Logoby mikegmi » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:52 pm 1 person likes this post

The case ID is 00593600. This was occurring on both of our VeeamONE servers (two datacentres). I managed to fix the issue by;

- Reinstalling (upgrading) 7.0 R1. For some reason the upgrade wizard said the Web component was still on v6.0.
- Re-ran the patch to 7.0 R2.

After this the database magically started working! Prior to this, after doing a bit of Googling it seems I was supposed to run a utility under c:\Program Files\Common Files\Veeam\Veeam ONE Settings to check the database connection. I checked but couldn't for the life of me find the utility, called VeeamOneSettings.exe. The folder was there but no exe or files were contained within it. Strangely, after re-running both the upgrade to 7.0 and the patch to R2, the utility has now mysteriously appeared.

TL;DR, Reinstall.
mikegmi
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:01 pm
Full Name: Mike Bordignon

Re: Upgrade Veeam One from 7.0 to 7.0R2a database disconnect

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jul 02, 2014 9:27 am

Mike, that's strange that not all components were present in the Veeam folder. Thanks for updating the thread.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests