Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
bkain1
Expert
Posts: 128
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Dec 23, 2020 4:43 pm
Full Name: Becki Kain
Contact:

v1 database created first?

Post by bkain1 »

in version 10, i remember that V1 created it's own database on the backend box, now in Version 11, https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/one/d ... ml?ver=110 is stating that I need a database created first, with sqlcmd, to get it on the remote box. Is that new in version 11 for VONE or am I remembering version 10 incorrectly?

Thank you

Becki Kain

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 991
Liked: 458 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: v1 database created first?

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

Veeam One will create a db for you, if no database exists with the configured name in the „Database name field“ on the choosen SQL Server.

From your linked Guide:
In the Database name field, specify the name of the database that will be created by Veeam ONE. Provide credentials for the account that will be used by Veeam ONE components to access the database.
VMCE 9 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland
—————————————————————
VeeamOn 2021: https://www.veeam.com/veeamon

bkain1
Expert
Posts: 128
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Dec 23, 2020 4:43 pm
Full Name: Becki Kain
Contact:

Re: v1 database created first?

Post by bkain1 »

it didn't, but it turns out my service account doesn't have the permissions I was told it had been granted. I will go back to the SQL team to get the V1 perms that I need.

thank you

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 2493
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: v1 database created first?

Post by wishr »

Hi Becki,

We've recently added a few in-depth details into our required SQL permissions guide.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests