v8 Upgrade Issue

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby dusted » Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:38 pm

I upgraded to v8 on Friday. All went well however I have come across a strange issue.

When in Infrastructure View I can see from the Summary screen what the Latest Alarms are however if I click on the Alarms tab the Alarms do not show (I have the correct filters selected).
Likewise if I click on an affected entity directly (e.g. a VM with high CPU) the Summary information shows the Alarm however the Alarms tab doesn't. (Again correct filters selected)

Strangely enough everything works as expected in Business View.

Any thoughts?
dusted
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:57 am

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:55 pm

Hello,
Usually it happens when users don`t pick filters correctly(Alarm types, Object types, Infrastructure tree, Time period).
Despite you mentioned it should not be the case, could you please provide a screenshot of all filters selected?
Thank you.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby dusted » Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:25 pm

Infrastructure View Summary:

Image

Infrastructure View Alarms:

Image

Business View Summary:

Image

Business View Alarms:

Image
dusted
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:57 am

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:46 pm

Thank you for the snapshots. Filters looks good indeed.

Does that issue appear with the particular VM-alarm pair or other alarms are not shown in the corresponding tab as well?

The only thing among them is "Time period" filter. Please check if alarms which are shown in Summary match time interval set in the filter in "Alarms" tab.
If "Time period" is set well, please contact technical support team for logs review, since it`s not an expected behavior.

Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby dusted » Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:16 pm

I'll log for review - the workaround is to use Business View so its not too bad.
dusted
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:57 am

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:11 pm

True, but it`s good to know the reason of the issue.
So, once you contact Veeam support team, please post here the support case number.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby dusted » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:59 am 2 people like this post

Just logged the issue: Reference:00689295
dusted
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:57 am

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:00 am

Thank you for updating.
I`m following the case now.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby dprows » Thu Jun 04, 2015 1:13 pm

I know this is a year old, but was there ever a resolution to this, other than the workaround? I have the same issue. It only seems to affect VMs and nothing else. Alarms show on the Summary tab, but not on the Alarms tab. I installed update 2 hoping it would resolve the issue, but it didn't.
dprows
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:10 pm
Full Name: David Prows

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:42 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello David,
We`ve found the issue finally, there was an unevident bug, which is going to be solved in the next version. The easiest workaround is to uncheck "Hide vCloud Director VMs from Virtual Infrastructure tree" in the Server Settings of the Veeam One Monitor.
Image
Try if it works. Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

[MERGED] Alarms not showing in alarms view

Veeam Logoby 1R0Ny » Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:29 am

For some odd reason Veeam ONE doesn't show me alarms in the alarms view for my virtual machines, altough they are displayed in the summary view, so that way I cannot resolve these alerts. On datacenter, cluster and host level alarms are shown in the alarms view as normal.

To clarify some screenshots: http://imgur.com/a/DchCT

thanks in advance
1R0Ny
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:13 am

Re: Alarms not showing in alarms view

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:37 am

Hello,
The behavior looks unexpected. What is your Veeam One build number?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Alarms not showing in alarms view

Veeam Logoby 1R0Ny » Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:48 am

Veeam ONE is on Version 8.0.0.1669 with patch 2
1R0Ny
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:13 am

Re: v8 Upgrade Issue

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:46 pm

Thanks for the reply. It`s a known bug for that build version.
However, you can escape from it, you need to uncheck "Hide vCloud Director VMs from Virtual Infrastructure tree" in the Server Settings of the Veeam One Monitor as shown above in the thread. Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests