VAC for Veeam one?

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby szwicker » Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:24 pm

Will there but something coming along that functions for VeeamONE the way VAC does for Veeam B/R?
Rather than have to jump into each client's server, it would be nice to hit them all in a single pane of glass.
szwicker
Service Provider
 
Posts: 102
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:15 pm
Full Name: Seth Zwicker

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:28 am

Seth,

Just to make sure I understand it correctly. You want some sort of VAC that can manage/ monitor your customers Veeam ONE installations? Is that correct?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3150
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:55 am

Hi Seth, what kind of data do you want to sync to the master Veeam ONE server from other installations?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby szwicker » Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:44 am

Well, just as I can hop into any client's network and see their Veeam ONE instrumentation, it would great if I could see all of them in one portal.
szwicker
Service Provider
 
Posts: 102
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:15 pm
Full Name: Seth Zwicker

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:17 am

Are you talking about the mini dashboard you see using the Veeam One Client (with the statistics and the open alarms) as a start?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1503
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby szwicker » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:14 am

Well, ideally, I'd have the ability to jump into each client's Veeam One System from there to drill down further, but even, a mini-dashboard showing all would be a start.
szwicker
Service Provider
 
Posts: 102
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:15 pm
Full Name: Seth Zwicker

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:40 am

Looks like a Veeam ONE client working with several VO Servers is what you are asking for. Currently it`s not available, but to get dashboards you may connect to customers` Veeam ONE Reporters via web interface.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4842
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby EugeneK » Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:01 pm

The idea of having master/slave instances of VeeamOne is appealing: one of the greatest benefits of VeeamOne for Enterprise (Service Providers specifically) is an ability to monitor both, vSphere and Hyper-V environments from a single pane of glass.
However, the common challenge would arise from the fact those environments meant to be monitored, reside within the isolated/firewalled networks, which makes it a dillemma to punch DNAT holes through their perimiters to gather the required data, where to monitor every and each component behind the firewall would require that kind of rule to exist not only for vCenter (in vsphere environment), but also for every single node/component to be accessible over the network, making it rather complicated to implement.

If the concept of mast/slave was to be adopted, with an ability to collect data locally (Proxy-like VeeamOne appliance) to ship data later on upstream, to the Master collector, the design for monitoring purposes would be much easier, as not only it simplifies network communications, but also allows to scale-out (sorta) the VeeamOne instances.
Eugene K
Product Architect @ SingleHop - Veeam Platinum Service Provider
http://www.singlehop.com
VCAP-DCD, VCAP-DCA, VCP-NV
Veeam Certified Architect
EugeneK
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 102
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:57 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Eugene Kashperovetskyi

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:21 pm

Thanks for the clarification Eugene!
The request is taken into account.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4842
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:01 am

As a workaround, why not to install Veeam ONE in each site and then publish overview web-based dashboards in the central portal (for example, SharePoint)?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby szwicker » Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:02 pm

Circling back on this....

Vitali,
Can you please elaborate?
szwicker
Service Provider
 
Posts: 102
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:15 pm
Full Name: Seth Zwicker

Re: VAC for Veeam one?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:20 am

Sure! If you install Veeam ONE in each site and connect it to the client's infrastructure, then you can generate a direct linkto our web-based dashboards (Veeam ONE Reporter). Each site/client will have their own dashboard and unique URL which you can use in our own site (for example, if you have a web-based portal you can embed these direct links to a single view).

This is an old whitepaper, but it still gives you an idea on how to make it work > Integrating Veeam ONE Reporting into Microsoft SharePoint
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests