Veeam 9.5 adding server Hyper-V on Windows 10 error

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Veeam 9.5 adding server Hyper-V on Windows 10 error

Veeam Logoby Eagleknight » Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:11 am

I was running Veeam One Free 9.0 and didn't have any issues. I redid my Windows 10 Pro server that I have a few Hyper-V VM's on and now when I installed 9.5 and went to add a server I get an error. Veeam One Monitor could not connect to "server". Hyper-V role is not enabled on the server specified. Any ideas? I created a test admin account to make sure credentials were working. I could not locate a 9.0 free download anymore.
Eagleknight
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:01 am

Re: Veeam 9.5 adding server Hyper-V on Windows 10 error

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Apr 01, 2017 10:00 pm

Hello and welcome to the community!
Windows 10 is not officially supported as a hypervisor.
Did you run Veeam ONE v9 with Windows 10 with no issues?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5140
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam 9.5 adding server Hyper-V on Windows 10 error

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sat Apr 01, 2017 10:10 pm 1 person likes this post

While it isn't supported you might be able to get it working by installing the correct Hyper-V role via Powershell as explained here.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1630
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Veeam 9.5 adding server Hyper-V on Windows 10 error

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Apr 01, 2017 10:26 pm

Thanks for linking the blogpost, Niels!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5140
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam 9.5 adding server Hyper-V on Windows 10 error

Veeam Logoby Eagleknight » Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:50 pm

Yes, I had 9.0 working fine on Windows 10. Although it was awhile ago and don't remember if I ran into issues or not. It worked like a charm once up and running. I haven't had time to try that link yet. That link describe loading Hyper-V on a virtual machine, but you are saying run the same command on my host where Hyper-V is already configured?

Just something I noticed, the datasheet doesn't list Windows 10, but the help area in the requirement section has Windows 10 listed. Is it it referring to the monitor software?
https://www.veeam.com/pdf/datasheet/vee ... eet_en.pdf
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/one/d ... tml?ver=95
Eagleknight
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:01 am

Re: Veeam 9.5 adding server Hyper-V on Windows 10 error

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:12 pm

Veeam One can be installed on Windows 10 as stated in the helpcenter. However you are adding the Hyper-V guest which is also Windows 10 (or am I mistaken?). If so try running the powershell command on the Windows 10 Hyper-V server as Veeam One looks for a specific role that might be missing.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1630
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Veeam 9.5 adding server Hyper-V on Windows 10 error

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:29 pm

Correct, Veeam ONE software can be installed on Win 10, but Windows 10 is not supported as hypervisor.
Have you tried Niels` PS script?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5140
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest