Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
ndum
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 30, 2017 11:17 am
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Contact:

Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by ndum » Apr 10, 2019 12:14 pm

Hello

Today we updated our Veeam environment (B&R / Veeam ONE Enterprise) from 9.5 U3 to U4. So far everything worked. After that we did the license merge (we had previously licensed B&R and Veeam ONE separately) and now we have a single "Veeam Availability Suite" license. This could also be imported, but now Veeam ONE says that the licenses are exceeded (18.00 of 6 instances used). But both Veeam One and B&R are actually socket-licensed, why are they needed?

My suspicion tells me (we have 18 backup / copy jobs in B&R) that they are used therefor.

Thanks for help.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6916
Liked: 700 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Shestakov » Apr 10, 2019 12:39 pm

Hello,
Do you also have Veeam Agents managed by Veeam Backup server?

ndum
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 30, 2017 11:17 am
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by ndum » Apr 10, 2019 1:01 pm

Hello Shestakov

Yes, we have Veeam Agents managed by B&R. These were previously also licensed separately. Now we have a total of 20 licensed instances through B&R, but in Veeam ONE only 6.
Our partner has now opened a case, I think is easier to troubleshoot.

Thanks for your help.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6916
Liked: 700 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Shestakov » Apr 10, 2019 1:29 pm 1 person likes this post

Prior to update 4, Veeam ONE didn't require Veeam Agents to be included into its license as there was almost nothing for the monitoring of computers protected by Veeam Agents.
Starting from update 4 Veeam ONE does provide dedicated Agents-based reports, Business View categorization, custom reporting etc. And it involves licensing.
Could you clarify, before the merge, did you have 20 instances in VBR license and 6 instances in ONE license?

ndum
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 30, 2017 11:17 am
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by ndum » Apr 11, 2019 8:38 am 1 person likes this post

Hello Shestakov

It was apparently a mistake in the license. Support has created/patched a new license in which the 20 instances are now displayed also correctly in Veeam ONE. :D

Thanks for the support.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6916
Liked: 700 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Shestakov » Apr 11, 2019 9:59 am

Good to know. Thanks for the update!

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 141
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by DeadEyedJacks » May 14, 2019 1:18 pm

Similar issue here; Veeam One reporting 9 out of 6 'instance' licenses in use. But no indication what or where counts as an instance!

Prior to update 4 we didn't have this issue and are correctly licensed for VMware host sockets.

Only physical servers are the Veeam Backup servers.

Case # 03559892

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 14, 2019 5:02 pm

How many Agents are you managing with Veeam B&R which is monitored by this Veeam ONE server?

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 141
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by DeadEyedJacks » May 21, 2019 5:36 pm

Only Three Physical servers. So no idea where three times multiplier comes in !
Not making any head way with support currently...

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 24, 2019 8:52 pm

Do you use Veeam B&R standard edition by any chance?

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 141
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by DeadEyedJacks » May 31, 2019 2:00 pm

We are licensed for Veeam Availability Suite Enterprise Plus Edition.

However the license files shows Veeam B&R Enterprise Plus, but Veeam One Standard.
After alot of back and forth between Veeam Technical Support and Veeam Licensing Team, this is the response we received.

"Please be advised that perpetual legacy licenses are not available in the U4 version of veeam.com.
However, the U3 version of the license file will work just fine in the U4 version of your console.
If you require further assistance do not hesitate to get back to us."

Which I've translated as "ignore the error regarding Veeam One edition & instance multiplier being wrong"

We will shortly be ordering additional socket licenses, so will see what happens to the license file then...

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 31, 2019 3:43 pm 2 people like this post

If you're licensed to Veeam Availability Suite Enterprise Plus Edition, then Veeam ONE license key should also have this edition.
DeadEyedJacks wrote:Please be advised that perpetual legacy licenses are not available in the U4 version of veeam.com.
However, the U3 version of the license file will work just fine in the U4 version of your console.
This is incorrect since there are no U4 or U5 version perpetual license keys, they are exactly the same. The licensing team should have cut you a license key with the same edition as Veeam B&R. Feel free to escalate the ticket to get a correct key.

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 141
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by DeadEyedJacks » Jun 08, 2019 3:31 pm

Thanks, Could you escalate as licensing team is intent on closing call or playing parcel the parcel with tech support team, despite it obviously been an error in the license key originally created.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 09, 2019 7:53 pm

Yes, I will reach out to our licensing team reps tomorrow.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 11, 2019 2:39 pm

David, I have sent you the correct key. Please check out the inbox you were using to communicate with our support team. Additionally, the correct key will be soon available at my.veeam.com in the License Management Portal.

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 141
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by DeadEyedJacks » Jun 17, 2019 8:01 am 1 person likes this post

Vitaliy, Thanks for your assistance.

ricardo.simoes
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 29, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by ricardo.simoes » Jul 29, 2019 3:46 pm

Hi, similar issue here. Veeam One reporting:
Used sockets: 8 of 8
Used instances: 9.00 out of 6 'instance' licenses in use. But no indication what or where counts as an instance!
Monitored VMs: 33 of 33

What can I do?.

Best regards

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6916
Liked: 700 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Shestakov » Jul 29, 2019 4:50 pm

Hi RIcardo,
How many VMs / Computers protected by Veeam Agent do you have in your infrastructure?
Thanks

ricardo.simoes
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 29, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by ricardo.simoes » Jul 29, 2019 5:58 pm

Hello Shestakov, I have 3 protected machines by Veeam Agent.

I have a job backup agent that backup to 2 machines, 1 physical and 1 virtual (Some folder/files from VM (windows) and some folder/files from Hyper-v Host) and another job workstation (linux) to test which in the meantime already removed.

Thanks

ricardo.simoes
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 29, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by ricardo.simoes » Jul 30, 2019 1:31 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi, Problem resolved (helped by support).

I revoked one of the machines and the message is gone (Veeam Backup Server Console -> Go to License -> Instances (and there check which instances are licenses)).

My mistake, I thought the VM, part of the hyperv cluster, even being part of an agent backup job, didn't count as an instance.

Best regards

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6916
Liked: 700 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R license exceeded

Post by Shestakov » Jul 31, 2019 11:31 am

Great to know the issue is resolved. Thanks for the update.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests