Veeam One 9.5 - No more Host Revoke Option

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Veeam One 9.5 - No more Host Revoke Option

Veeam Logoby mcclans » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:31 pm

In versions prior to 9.5 the ability to revoke a host was quite simple. The licenses are based on sockets that are used for backup. We don't backup vm's from all of our hosts in our vCenter hence we're not licensed for all our hosts. Veeam One seems to decide which hosts will be excluded since it deems we've exceeded our license count. https://my.veeam.com/#/kb1899 is the old way of excluded or revoking a host. What is the current way to perform this same goal?
mcclans
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:05 pm
Full Name: Shawn McClanahan

Re: Veeam One 9.5 - No more Host Revoke Option

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:27 pm

Hi Shawn,

This option is still there, nothing has been dropped, we've just added options to exclude VMs too (based on the common feedback). If you want to exclude some hosts, you can still do that via this wizard > Monitored VMs.

Here is a step by step instruction on how to exclude all VMs on the host which will effectively exclude the entire host too > Choosing VMs to Monitor and Report On

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam One 9.5 - No more Host Revoke Option

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:55 pm

Hi Shawn,
When you exclude all VMs of the host, the host is excluded automatically and sockets are to be revoked automatically too.
Just create an exclusion rule, apply it to the desired host "by infrastructure location".
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam One 9.5 - No more Host Revoke Option

Veeam Logoby mcclans » Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:29 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks guys. I guess I was a victim of the "who moved my cheese" syndrome.
mcclans
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:05 pm
Full Name: Shawn McClanahan

Re: Veeam One 9.5 - No more Host Revoke Option

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:38 pm 1 person likes this post

Yeah, that`s natural. :)
We just needed to add more flexibility because of the new per-VM licenses. In v9 we just added "Monitored VMs" tab, now we merged it with older "Monitored Hosts", but kept all the functionality.
Let us know if you have any troubles.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests