Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:24 pm

Veeam One is eating up my WAN bandwidth for vCenters across the WAN. Any options available to throttle or control this? I'm currently seeing 3GB of WAN usage in the past hour from my Veeam One server.

Thanks in advance!
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:29 am

Hello nzorn,
How many Hosts/VMs do you have?
Veeam ONE collects performance data and you can either filter out metrics you are not interested in or change collection intervals.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5759
Liked: 494 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:59 pm

We'd rather not filter anything out as that kinda defeats the purpose of VeeamOne. According to the current license information it looks like 38 sockets and 485 VMs. 4 vCenters total, 1 local, 3 across WAN.

I guess I could move the server to the city hosting 2 vCenters so only 2 go across the WAN (I just have less resources in that city and VeeamOne uses a lot), or build 3 individual VeeamOne servers but that would not be very convenient.
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:20 pm

Got it. Note that just after you add VC or VBR server to Veeam ONE console it starts to collect historical data, so high traffic usage is expected.
You may install Veeam ONE Server closer to VCs and Veeam ONE Client on remote sites. Several Veeam ONE servers is also a good workaround.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5759
Liked: 494 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:40 pm

Yeah but it's eating up the WAN, so no way to throttle it?
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:52 pm

No, as it does't make much sense to throttle continuous performance data. You need to decrease its amount instead with one of the methods mentioned above.
Do you experience 3GB of WAN usage in hour right after you added VC/VBR server or that`s usual amount of traffic?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5759
Liked: 494 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:08 pm

That's the usual amount of traffic, I haven't added a new vCenter in many months, and VeeamBackup is not currently talking to VeeamOne. I have the VeeamOne service currently turned off to keep my WAN happy.

Seems silly that you can't throttle or control the polling times or bandwidth usage.
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:40 pm

We will perform test on traffic consumption, but for the first sight 3GB per hour is 7 Mbps which does not seem abnormal for 500 VMs.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5759
Liked: 494 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:00 pm

Here's a graph of my WAN, you can see when I turned off the VeeamOne service this morning: https://i.imgur.com/VfsNJQb.jpg
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:06 pm

Thank you, nzorn!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5759
Liked: 494 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:31 pm

Any update on this?
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:58 am

Not much, we've just released Veeam ONE v9.5 Update 3 with new features and fixed issues. Scalability tests will be made later.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5759
Liked: 494 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby nzorn » Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:44 pm

Were you able to perform a test on traffic consumption?
nzorn
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:48 pm

Not a comprehensive one to draw conclusions. I'll update this topic once we have proper results. Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5759
Liked: 494 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests