Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
nzorn
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm
Contact:

Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by nzorn » Dec 13, 2017 10:24 pm

Veeam One is eating up my WAN bandwidth for vCenters across the WAN. Any options available to throttle or control this? I'm currently seeing 3GB of WAN usage in the past hour from my Veeam One server.

Thanks in advance!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5931
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by Shestakov » Dec 14, 2017 9:29 am

Hello nzorn,
How many Hosts/VMs do you have?
Veeam ONE collects performance data and you can either filter out metrics you are not interested in or change collection intervals.
Thanks!

nzorn
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by nzorn » Dec 14, 2017 1:59 pm

We'd rather not filter anything out as that kinda defeats the purpose of VeeamOne. According to the current license information it looks like 38 sockets and 485 VMs. 4 vCenters total, 1 local, 3 across WAN.

I guess I could move the server to the city hosting 2 vCenters so only 2 go across the WAN (I just have less resources in that city and VeeamOne uses a lot), or build 3 individual VeeamOne servers but that would not be very convenient.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5931
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by Shestakov » Dec 14, 2017 2:20 pm

Got it. Note that just after you add VC or VBR server to Veeam ONE console it starts to collect historical data, so high traffic usage is expected.
You may install Veeam ONE Server closer to VCs and Veeam ONE Client on remote sites. Several Veeam ONE servers is also a good workaround.

nzorn
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by nzorn » Dec 14, 2017 2:40 pm

Yeah but it's eating up the WAN, so no way to throttle it?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5931
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by Shestakov » Dec 14, 2017 2:52 pm

No, as it does't make much sense to throttle continuous performance data. You need to decrease its amount instead with one of the methods mentioned above.
Do you experience 3GB of WAN usage in hour right after you added VC/VBR server or that`s usual amount of traffic?
Thanks!

nzorn
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by nzorn » Dec 14, 2017 3:08 pm

That's the usual amount of traffic, I haven't added a new vCenter in many months, and VeeamBackup is not currently talking to VeeamOne. I have the VeeamOne service currently turned off to keep my WAN happy.

Seems silly that you can't throttle or control the polling times or bandwidth usage.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5931
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by Shestakov » Dec 14, 2017 3:40 pm

We will perform test on traffic consumption, but for the first sight 3GB per hour is 7 Mbps which does not seem abnormal for 500 VMs.
Thanks!

nzorn
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by nzorn » Dec 14, 2017 4:00 pm

Here's a graph of my WAN, you can see when I turned off the VeeamOne service this morning: https://i.imgur.com/VfsNJQb.jpg

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5931
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by Shestakov » Dec 14, 2017 4:06 pm

Thank you, nzorn!

nzorn
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by nzorn » Dec 18, 2017 10:31 pm

Any update on this?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5931
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by Shestakov » Dec 19, 2017 11:58 am

Not much, we've just released Veeam ONE v9.5 Update 3 with new features and fixed issues. Scalability tests will be made later.
Thanks!

nzorn
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by nzorn » Dec 19, 2017 1:44 pm

Were you able to perform a test on traffic consumption?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5931
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Across WAN / Bandwidth Throttling

Post by Shestakov » Dec 19, 2017 1:48 pm

Not a comprehensive one to draw conclusions. I'll update this topic once we have proper results. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests