Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 385
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Veeam One DB Rights

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Sep 01, 2015 2:37 pm

I am trying to install a new instance of Veeam One onto a new VBR server, but I want Veeam One to use its own service account. How do I add that account to the permissions of the existing DB? Do I need sql management tools to modify this or do I have to use the same account that I used to install VBR?

Cheers!
VMCE v9

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6836
Liked: 697 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by Shestakov » Sep 02, 2015 2:04 pm

Hello Ryan,
You can run Veeam One from the separate account, and yes, you need to give the new account permissions of the DB. An example is described here.
Note that the account has to have admin rights on the machine as well. Thanks!

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 385
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Sep 02, 2015 2:09 pm

Ok, that's what I assumed, but I am having issues connecting via SQL Management Studio to the DB on my VBR server. Do you know of an easy way to add that new user to the database?
VMCE v9

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5189
Liked: 448 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by P.Tide » Sep 02, 2015 2:32 pm

Hi,
Ok, that's what I assumed, but I am having issues connecting via SQL Management Studio to the DB on my VBR server.
What kind of issue?

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 385
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Sep 02, 2015 2:34 pm

I cant :D

I couldn't find the management studio for 2012 so I downloaded 2016 on my desktop and couldn't connect. I didn't want to install the management studio on the VBR server, just because I like it clean. I tried using 2005 studio and I put in the server name and it says it cannot find the files.
VMCE v9

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5189
Liked: 448 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by P.Tide » Sep 02, 2015 2:46 pm

I think you might want to use buitl-in sqlcmd commandline utility in order to add a user. Please see this example.

Thank you.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6836
Liked: 697 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by Shestakov » Sep 02, 2015 3:06 pm

Here is also a good explaination of how to add a user.
I believe you can also contact technical support if you have troubles with that.
Thanks!

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 385
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Sep 02, 2015 3:07 pm

Thanks guys, I went ahead and used the same login as I did for VBR, it just simplified the process and got it up and running. Maybe another day I will tackle changing service accounts for both VBR and One!

Cheers!
VMCE v9

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6836
Liked: 697 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by Shestakov » Sep 02, 2015 3:12 pm

Is your goal to separate Veeam One / VBR users, I mean forbid the initial user to start the Veeam One service or you just wanted to grant Veeam ONE permissions to one more user?

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 385
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Veeam One DB Rights

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Sep 02, 2015 3:26 pm

It was merely a cosmetic issue. I like having AD setup with specific users for specific tasks. Here is a VBR account, here is a Veeam One account, etc. I am fine combining the two. One day I will want to change both VBR and One to a different account but one step at a time!
VMCE v9

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests