Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
G4njaWizard
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 27, 2017 1:53 pm
Full Name: Michael Barek

Veeam One Free bugged?

Post by G4njaWizard » Feb 27, 2017 3:12 pm

Hi fellas,

last week on Friday i started testing veeam one free monitoring on 2 test VMs & 2 Hyper-V Hosts.
On Friday everything worked as expected. No errors, wonderful overviews and easy to configure for hours.

Today i started the Monitoring Server and showed up 3 configuration issues.

Translated from german:

Code: Select all

Description
Fired by event: VeeamEventCollectionFailedEvent
Event description: Failed to collect events data for object 192.168.100.138. Der RPC-Server ist nicht verfügbar. (Ausnahme von HRESULT: 0x800706BA)
Initiated by: Veeam ONE Monitor (MONITORING)

Knowledge
Veeam ONE Monitor server failed to collect events data from the objects specified

Cause
There might be multiple reasons for this:
Virtual Server might not be accessibleVirtual Server is under heavy load

Resolution
Verify that Virtual Server is availableMake sure firewall on Virtual Server allows incoming connectionsCheck account permissions used to connect to Virtual Server specifiedUse native tools to test connection to specified server

External
See a corresponding event description for more information

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6310
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Free bugged?

Post by Shestakov » Feb 27, 2017 3:46 pm

Hi Michael and welcome to the community.
Well, the alarm`s description contains the main information. Indeed for some reason connection between Veeam ONE Server and HV Hosts has been lost.
Did you add the host as standalone instances or as a cluster?
Thanks!

G4njaWizard
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 27, 2017 1:53 pm
Full Name: Michael Barek

Re: Veeam One Free bugged?

Post by G4njaWizard » Feb 28, 2017 7:14 am

Hi,

thx for welcoming and thx for fast reply!

unfortunately i finished the topic before i really finished my text. -.-

The connection to the Hosts itself cant get lose. When i start the Veeam One Server, it acknowledges that all Hyper-Vs are available and well configured.
Hyper-V VMs are healthy and running.
Now after 5-10 minutes, veeam starts yelling the rpc-server isnt available anymore.
BUT i am still receiving live feeds from the VMs running on the hosts.

There are 3 Hyper-Vs that i configured for monitoring.
2 Hosts are rack mounted. 1 Host is the Hyper-V host from the veeam monitoring VM. So from veeam one VM to Host 1 is nothing that could block the interaction between both.

The only thing i could imagine, all servers have Kaspersky installed. Maybe its blocking a Port that is needed for the live monitoring. Are there any rules that have to be activated?

Otherwise i have no clue where it could stuck.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5290
Liked: 557 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Free bugged?

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 28, 2017 7:19 am

Hi Michael,

It might be best to look here for the firewall ports: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/one/d ... tml?ver=95 and here for firewall rules: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/one/d ... tml?ver=95

Since I see in your first message it is a problem collecting events, I think the firewall rule should help you fix the problem

Hope it helps
Mike

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6310
Liked: 584 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Free bugged?

Post by Shestakov » Feb 28, 2017 10:28 am

Firewall indeed may be an issue.
You can also contact Veeam support if help is needed.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22056
Liked: 1368 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Free bugged?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 28, 2017 11:53 am

G4njaWizard wrote:Now after 5-10 minutes, veeam starts yelling the rpc-server isnt available anymore.
BUT i am still receiving live feeds from the VMs running on the hosts.
I would also check this fact with our support team, maybe the alarm is too sensitive for the temp connection drops.

G4njaWizard
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 27, 2017 1:53 pm
Full Name: Michael Barek

Re: Veeam One Free bugged?

Post by G4njaWizard » Mar 01, 2017 1:35 pm

So... before i enable those ports, i wanted to test if kaspersky really blocks the communication. So i deactivated Kaspersky on every Host and the monitoring Server itself. Same results:
It took 5 Minutes for the errors to show up.
Live Data from the VMs is still collecting. So there is still a connection to those Hosts.
Image
Image

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22056
Liked: 1368 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One Free bugged?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 01, 2017 2:25 pm

OK, thanks for this check. Now, let's ask our support team to take a look at the logs.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests