Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
dsilman
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 13, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Damien Silman
Contact:

Veeam ONE install location

Post by dsilman » Aug 13, 2012 2:06 pm

Hi all,

I was looking to find out if there was a best practice for what server to host Veeam ONE on?

Currently I think I will install it on the vCenter server (we only have 1). However if this may cause performance issues there are a number of other servers I could put it on instead.

Thanks,

-Damo.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23182
Liked: 1602 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE install location

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 13, 2012 4:04 pm

Hi Damien,

You can use any server to host Veeam ONE, but be aware that installation of Veeam ONE components is not supported for the following servers:
- Domain Controllers
- Windows Server 2008 with enabled Hyper-V role
- Windows Server 2008 R2 with enabled Hyper-V role

As to deploying Veeam ONE on vCenter Server, then it is possible, but I wouldn't recommend to do it either.

See this topic for more info: Vcenter 4.1 Crash with Backup V5, Monitor, Reporter (pretty old thread, but still very useful).

Thanks!

dsilman
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 13, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Damien Silman
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE install location

Post by dsilman » Aug 13, 2012 4:11 pm

Hi Vitality,

Your post has talked me out of putting it on the same server as vCenter, I'll put it on a different non-DC, non-Hyper V server.

Thanks :-)

melo
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 11, 2012 3:51 pm
Full Name: Rommel Alban
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE install location

Post by melo » Feb 01, 2013 10:48 am

Hi Vitaliy,

Rommel here from the Philippines. I am in the process of VEEAM implementation in the largest construction company here. For the VEEAM ONE installation, can I install it on the VEEAM Proxy/Repository Server? Will there be any issues if I install it on any VEEAM Servers?

Please advise. Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23182
Liked: 1602 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE install location

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 03, 2013 10:49 am

Hi Rommel,

Feel free to deploy Veeam ONE server on any Veeam B&R components (proxy/repository), but keep in mind that your backup/replication jobs might experience performance degradation because proxy VM will be used by both Veeam ONE and Veeam B&R.

Thanks!

melo
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 11, 2012 3:51 pm
Full Name: Rommel Alban
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE install location

Post by melo » Feb 26, 2013 1:47 pm

Thanks Vitaliy!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests