Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:08 am

Licensing? Not really, as we license only physical sockets of ESXi/Hyper-V servers you're backing up VMs from, and not the amount of CPUs on the backup server.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby asigurds » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:59 pm

I'm experiencing the same issue. After upgrading Veeam ONE to V7.0, CPU load increases considerably. Both on the ONE server and the B&R server (V7.0 R2).
Both servers are configured with two vCPUs. If I stop monitoring the B&R server, CPU usage is normal.
asigurds
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 3:52 pm
Full Name: Asgeir Sigurdsson

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:52 pm

Hello Asgeir,

Are you monitoring your backup infrastructure via EM or direct connection to the backup server? If you could open a support case on this and let our engineers take a look at the setup, it would be highly appreciated.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby asigurds » Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:31 am

Hi Vitaliy.

This is a direct connection to the backup server. I'll open a support case.
asigurds
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 3:52 pm
Full Name: Asgeir Sigurdsson

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:30 am

Once you do this, please PM me your case ID, so I could also track it. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby joergr » Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:24 pm

Please keep the forum updated on this one. Best regards, Joerg
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 377
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby asigurds » Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:00 pm

According to support, this is a known behaviour and R&D are working on a solution. Currently they do not have information as of when a fix will be released.
asigurds
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 3:52 pm
Full Name: Asgeir Sigurdsson

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:02 pm

This optimization is scheduled for the next major update, but I will discuss this problem with our dev team once again. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby joergr » Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:06 pm

OK thanks guys. Please keep us updated. Best regards, Joerg
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 377
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby asigurds » Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:27 pm

Just to let know that this is issue hasn't been fixed with patch #3 of B&R.
asigurds
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 3:52 pm
Full Name: Asgeir Sigurdsson

Re: Veeam One server - 300% CPU load increase

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:14 pm

Yes, as this has to be addressed from both products. As far as I know the reason for this is the number of WMI queries, so we have decided further enhance our data collection engine in the next updates of Veeam ONE.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Previous

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests