Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Veeam Logoby northrundicandus » Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:10 pm

Case #00676148

Anyone else have trouble upgrading from Veeam ONE from 7 to 8? I was stuck for an hour and fifteen minutes at "Installing Veeam ONE Monitor Server..."

The tech assigned to the case suggested I reboot and try again, and if that doesn't work then do a clean install.

A reboot and upgrade again led to an inconsistent configuration error, and it's telling me to uninstall all Veeam ONE components and try again. I'm reverting back to my snapshots of the Veeam ONE and SQL servers to recover.

I have a lot of custom alerts configured. Is there a way to preserve those if I have to do a clean install?
northrundicandus
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:01 pm
Full Name: Joe Ross

Re: Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:34 pm

Hi Joe,

In order to preserve all custom alarms, please use alarms export functionality if you can still access it via Veeam ONE Monitor Client. I will ask our dev team to take a look a the debug logs you've shared with our support team.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Veeam Logoby northrundicandus » Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:57 pm

The install logs look pretty plain - no obvious errors. I just end up being stuck at "Beginning a Windows Installer transaction: F:\\Monitor\veeam_monitor_srv_x64.msi."

Looking at the SQL server though, I see the Veeam ONE service account connected to the database running a CREATE INDEX cmd on the Veeam ONE database. Is the installer triggering a reindex of everything? It's an 85 GB database.
northrundicandus
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:01 pm
Full Name: Joe Ross

Re: Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Veeam Logoby northrundicandus » Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:39 pm

I poked around and found the query that is currently running:

Here’s the exact query that is running:

IF NOT EXISTS (SELECT * FROM sys.indexes WHERE object_id = OBJECT_ID(N'[monitor].[PerfSampleLow]') AND name = N'IX_PerfSampleLow')
CREATE NONCLUSTERED INDEX [IX_PerfSampleLow] ON [monitor].[PerfSampleLow]
(
[instance_id] ASC,
[counter_id] ASC,
[timestamp] DESC
)
INCLUDE ( [interval],
[value]) WITH (STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, SORT_IN_TEMPDB = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, DROP_EXISTING = OFF, ONLINE = OFF) ON [PRIMARY]

This is coming from the Windows Installer application running from the Veeam ONE server.
northrundicandus
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:01 pm
Full Name: Joe Ross

Re: Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:23 am

Hi Joe,

I have just discussed this with our dev team lead and we do trigger a procedure that rebuilds indexes in our database. These indexes boost the report generation performance, as well as other database queries. If database is large enough, this process can indeed take some time.

What I suggest you to do here is to check whether the process is still running or not. By now, it should have finished the required maintenance preparations required by the setup and you should be able to proceed with the upgrade.

P.S. for other users, we will create a KB article, that would show how to rebuild indexes prior the upgrade, so that this process does not take much time.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Veeam Logoby northrundicandus » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:41 pm

It did finally clear up - it took about two hours to run! A friendly KB article would definitely help other users I think.
northrundicandus
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:01 pm
Full Name: Joe Ross

Re: Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:36 pm

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam ONE upgrade from 7 to 8

Veeam Logoby northrundicandus » Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:47 pm 1 person likes this post

You guys are the bestest. :D

Vitaliy S. wrote:Done - http://www.veeam.com/kb1951
northrundicandus
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:01 pm
Full Name: Joe Ross


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests