Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
spiritie
Service Provider
Posts: 152
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mar 01, 2016 10:16 am
Full Name: Gert
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by spiritie »

Hi Forum

Is it expected that Veeam ONE after v11 uses a lot more CPU than previous versions?
Ours went from 6-8% everage to 90% average. The installation is not monitoring that much. It has 6x vCPU's and the SQL is hosted externally.
Specifically it is the "Veeam Data Collector Service" which is using almost all of the CPU.

Anyone else seen this behaviour?
Image

wishr
Expert
Posts: 3077
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by wishr »

Hi Gert,

No, this is not expected and currently, we are collecting information about this issue through our technical support team. Could you please open a case and share your case ID?

Thanks

spiritie
Service Provider
Posts: 152
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mar 01, 2016 10:16 am
Full Name: Gert
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by spiritie »

Hi wishr

I've created a case now: #04708029
Logs have been attached.

/Gert

wishr
Expert
Posts: 3077
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by wishr »

Thank you! Let's see what technical support will find out.

m4ntic0r
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2021 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by m4ntic0r »

Same problem here after upgrade to v11.
Any news?

wishr
Expert
Posts: 3077
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by wishr »

Hi M4ntic0r,

No news at the moment. All cases we received about high CPU usage after the upgrade to v11 had different nature, usually not even related to the upgrade. So please open an independent support case and share your case ID here so we could track it.

Update: in a few of the "High CPU consumption" cases the root cause was related to incorrectly installed Veeam ONE Agent. We are still investigating this particular situation and need more information from customers experiencing the issue.

Thanks

spiritie
Service Provider
Posts: 152
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mar 01, 2016 10:16 am
Full Name: Gert
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by spiritie » 1 person likes this post

@m4ntic0r our problem was because of the Veeam Agent was not correctly installed. If you are monitoring af VBR server with your Veeam ONE, please check if the "Agent" tab options are greyed out. We experienced this issue from this KB: https://www.veeam.com/kb3130

We re-installed the Veeam ONE Agent on the Veeam ONE server itself in order to resolve this issue: "Option 1" from the guide.

vmeup
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 08, 2022 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by vmeup »

Hi everyone,

not sure if we have the same problem, but we have Veeam One and BR running on the same VM and the CPU usage even after applying KB3130 is at 25-35% (Bevor the KB3130 it was around 80-90%)
Case # 05263507

in this infrastructure we only backup with Veeam Agent Windows (Clientcomputers) no VMs.

thanks
vmeup

wishr
Expert
Posts: 3077
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by wishr »

Hi Vmeup,

Welcome to R&D forums!

What makes you think that that load is not normal? The issue you are referring to is quite old and is not present in the current product version.

For a detailed analysis of the situation, we recommend working with the technical support engineers directly.

Thanks

jcavalear
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 12, 2018 3:34 pm
Full Name: Joe Cavalear
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by jcavalear »

I've encountered this same issue after upgrading to v11. CPU over 90% after the upgrade.

Opened support case #01937423.

For now I've shut down the Veeam Monitoring Service to alleviate the issue until I hear back from support.

wishr
Expert
Posts: 3077
Liked: 448 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by wishr »

Hi Joe,

Have you upgraded to v11a or v11? If the first, it looks like the issue #4 from that thread. Othewise, I would recommend investigating it with our customer support engineers.

Thanks

jcavalear
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 12, 2018 3:34 pm
Full Name: Joe Cavalear
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE v11 CPU usage

Post by jcavalear » 1 person likes this post

I opened a support case and early evidence suggests this is resolved.

Support pointed out that I had originally installed VeeamOne on v9.5 and we had an issue with SQL Database Partitioning. They supplied some easy commands to run and after this and reboot the VeeamOne server CPU appears to be normal again. It's only been a few hours but looking good.

Hope this helps someone else.
Joe

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests