Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
Post Reply
fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 21, 2016 1:39 am

Hi,
installed newest version of veeam one v9.
Added vcenter to infrastructure, according to documentation it should collect data from up to 3 months of historical data.
It doesn't, data doesn't show up in charts. vcenter version is 5.5 update 3b.
Maybe someone has the same problem and knows how to resolve?
Thanks in advance.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6830
Liked: 696 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Shestakov » Jan 21, 2016 9:24 am

Hi Tomas,
Is the data present on the charts in the vSphere?
Can you see any related alarms triggered in Veeam ONE?
Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 21, 2016 10:35 am

That's expected behavior, because VMware made changes in their API and importing of past performance data now can take up to a week, that's why we have disabled this functionality.

Please check out this thread for more info > Veeam ONE Alert - Performance data collection failure

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 26, 2016 11:49 am

Is it possible to reenable this functionality by myself, because the data on vcenter it self is there, i can see historical performance data and charts, so it should import.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 26, 2016 11:58 am

Yes, you can definitely re-enable it, but the problem is that data retrieval might take significant amount of time due to the way VMware handles these API calls in their latest release.

In order to resolve this issue you will need to change vCenter Server config file as per this KB article. Once it is done, you will need to enable past performance data import in Veeam ONE using the instruction from this KB. Hope this helps!

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 26, 2016 9:26 pm

Hi,
Before doing everything i removed monitoring vcenters from inventory.
just tried to implement fix from vmware mentioned in this KB article
And also enabled past performance data from from this KB
Added vcenter servers for collection and still data is only imported about only 2 hours in the past, that's it.

Here's the from log file settings from veeam one v9:

Code: Select all

"LogLevel: 1"
"MaxLogSize: 10485760"
"MaxLogFiles: 10"
"MaxTimeDiff: 600"
"CollIntTypicalScal: 60000"
"MaxLowHistQueryInterval: 3888000"
"MaxMedHistQueryInterval: 172800"
"PerfMedMaxAge: 604800"
"HighSamplePeriod: 20"
"MedSamplePeriod: 300"
"LowSamplePeriod: 7200"
"RtPerfQueryPeriod: 60"
"MedPerfQueryPeriod: 10080"
"LowPerfQueryPeriod: 259200"
"RtQueryTimeoutSec: 300"
"HistQueryTimeoutSec: 900"
"AlarmDetectInterval: 20000"
"PipeSecRecvTimeout: 30000"
"MaxEntitiesInPerfQuery: 30"
"EnableESXEmulator: 0"
"ESXEmulatorVmCount: 100"
"DatabaseAuthSql: 0"
"MtPerf_Enable: 1"
"MtPerf_MaxThreads: 16"
"MtPerf_MaxHostPerQuery: 5"
"HealthyEntitiesInRtPerfQuery: 1"
"PipeBufferSize: 65536"
"HostScanInterval: 10000"
"EventEnumPageSize: 1000"
"EventCachePeriod: 3900"
"PerfCacheIntervalTypical: 3900"
"DisableIncInfUpdate: 0"
"DisableClientUserCheck: 0"
"DatastoreInstanceLoadMethod: 0"
"DbLogShrinkIntervalInMin: 1440"
"LoadPerfAtStartup: 1"
"MaxPerfDataGenPeriodInSec: 3600"
"RtPerfDataCleanPeriod: 0"
"SensorsRefreshInterval: 12:00:00"
Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, you can definitely re-enable it, but the problem is that data retrieval might take significant amount of time due to the way VMware handles these API calls in their latest release.

In order to resolve this issue you will need to change vCenter Server config file as per this KB article. Once it is done, you will need to enable past performance data import in Veeam ONE using the instruction from this KB. Hope this helps!

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 27, 2016 12:31 pm

Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks in advance.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 27, 2016 1:57 pm

Just re-visited this topic with our dev team, it seems like it was removed in the code itself, so the registry key doesn't change the behavior. We will bring the registry key control back in our next updates.

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 27, 2016 2:01 pm

Is it possible to get those registry keys as a temporary solution until you will release update, because it can be even after half a year.
At least what registry keys needs to be created to get working this feature.
Thanks in advance.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 27, 2016 2:08 pm

Tomas, I'm referring to registry keys that you've tried to apply from the KB article, these do not work in v9. Update 1 should be released in Q1 (depends on the support team). Can you please clarify why do you need initial past performance data import feature? It imports data from the vCenter Server and then start collecting data in real-time.

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 27, 2016 2:16 pm 1 person likes this post

I need initial past performance data import feature to get all the trends for at least past 3-6 months, not only from the time when i added vcenter servers.
Veeam one v9 is showing data only since it was added new vcenter to veeam one itself. So it means that i will have to wait for following 3-6 months to get this data with current configuration. Basically this the problem what i have.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 27, 2016 2:56 pm

Yes, makes sense. We tried to get an answer from VMware why this change was made, but will bring this functionality in Veeam ONE backup. Thanks for the feedback!

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 27, 2016 4:47 pm

So what would be solution for getting this functionality to work in v9.
Thanks.

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 27, 2016 7:14 pm

Really need a temporary solution for this problem.

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 28, 2016 9:15 am

I am waiting for temporary solution. Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 28, 2016 9:42 am

This was disabled in the code due to the way VMware handles these API calls now. If there was an easy fix for that, I would definitely have shared it with you.

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 28, 2016 10:53 am

Is it possible then still to download veeam one v8, where i guess this function is working properly?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 28, 2016 10:59 am

Hmm... that's actually a very clever workaround, which I haven't though of!

Here is what I would recommend to do:

1. Get the download link of Veeam ONE v8 by contacting our support team
2. Add vCenter Server to v8 console to start collecting all the data
3. Once it is done, you can upgrade back to v9 and continue using all new functionlaity

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 28, 2016 11:26 am

Support team is requiring support id, and we are currently on evaluation license.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 28, 2016 11:28 am

Support team can assist you if you have evaluation license key as well, without support ID.

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 29, 2016 10:35 am

Ok so installed veeam on v8 with VeeamONE_8.0.0.1731_Update2, still cannot see any imported historical performance data.
Seems that it is not even trying to import. Perhaps something additional need to be done.
Please help.

Here configuration file VeeamDCS.log:

Code: Select all

29.01.16 10:54:27 Generic 0x06D8 worker		"----------------------------------- New session -----------------------------------"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Generic 0x06D8 worker		"Veeam Data Collector Service version 8.0.0.1731"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Generic 0x06D8 worker		"Running at **********"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Generic 0x06D8 worker		"Local time is UTC +1"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"----------------- Settings --------------------"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"LogLevel: 1"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MaxLogSize: 10485760"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MaxLogFiles: 10"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MaxTimeDiff: 600"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"CollIntTypicalScal: 60000"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MaxLowHistQueryInterval: 3888000"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MaxMedHistQueryInterval: 172800"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"PerfMedMaxAge: 604800"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"HighSamplePeriod: 20"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MedSamplePeriod: 300"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"LowSamplePeriod: 7200"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"RtPerfQueryPeriod: 60"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MedPerfQueryPeriod: 10080"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"LowPerfQueryPeriod: 129600"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"RtQueryTimeoutSec: 300"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"HistQueryTimeoutSec: 900"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"AlarmDetectInterval: 20000"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"PipeSecRecvTimeout: 30000"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MaxEntitiesInPerfQuery: 50"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"EnableESXEmulator: 0"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"ESXEmulatorVmCount: 100"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"DatabaseName: VeeamOne"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"DatabaseAuthSql: 0"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MtPerf_Enable: 1"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MtPerf_MaxThreads: 16"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MtPerf_MaxHostPerQuery: 5"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"HealthyEntitiesInRtPerfQuery: 1"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"PipeBufferSize: 65536"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"HostScanInterval: 10000"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"EventEnumPageSize: 1000"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"EventCachePeriod: 3900"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"PerfCacheIntervalTypical: 3900"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"DisableIncInfUpdate: 0"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"DisableClientUserCheck: 0"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"DatastoreInstanceLoadMethod: 0"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"DbLogShrinkIntervalInMin: 1440"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"LoadPerfAtStartup: 1"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"MaxPerfDataGenPeriodInSec: 3600"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"RtPerfDataCleanPeriod: 0"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"SensorsRefreshInterval: 12:00:00"
29.01.16 10:54:27 Inform  0x06D8 worker		"-----------------------------------------------"
29.01.16 10:54:29 Inform  0x06EC boss		"SQL server is accessible, starting services..."
29.01.16 10:54:29 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Stopping request processor..."
29.01.16 10:54:29 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Request processor stopped"
29.01.16 10:54:29 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Database language is 1033 (English)"
29.01.16 10:54:29 Inform  0x06EC boss		"SQL Server Express Edition (64-bit) (4) SP1. Version 11.0.3128.0"
29.01.16 10:54:29 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Max DB size is 10737418240 bytes"
29.01.16 10:54:29 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Checking license..."
29.01.16 10:54:29 Inform  0x06EC boss		"License checking completed. STANDARD mode, number of sockets: vw - 50, hv - 50"
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Initializing entity cache..."
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Entity cache initialized in 0.2 seconds"
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Initializing perfomance cache..."
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Perfomance cache initialized in 0.1 seconds. Low resampler: 0.0 samples: 2 - 0.0, 3 - 0.0"
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Initializing alarm cache..."
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Moving alarm exclude settings..."
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Alarm exlude settins were moved for 0 guest disks (0 VMs) and 0 sensors"
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Rebuild entity permissions..."
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Permissions rebuilt in 0.015 sec"
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Stopping request processor..."
29.01.16 10:54:30 Inform  0x06EC boss		"Request processor stopped"

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 29, 2016 10:39 am

Did you set the reg key (enabled past performance data import) as it is advised in the KB?

fr33tk
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 21, 2016 1:30 am
Full Name: Tomas
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by fr33tk » Jan 29, 2016 10:58 am

Like from log file i posted the setting LowPerfQueryPeriod is set to > 0, in my case it's 6 months.

Code: Select all

29.01.16 11:52:41 Inform  0x1138 worker		"LowPerfQueryPeriod: 259200"

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 29, 2016 11:11 am

Dev team has confirmed that in VeeamONE_8.0.0.1731_Update2 build this functionality was also disabled. Please install GA version of the product which is - 8.0.0.1569. Sorry for not mentioning it earlier, my bad.

lando_uk
Expert
Posts: 302
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2013 10:02 am
Full Name: Mark
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by lando_uk » Feb 15, 2016 4:45 pm

Our historical data is still there when we upgraded to v9, we are using vCenter 5.5 : 2646482 - So if I update this to the latest version (or v6) will my historical data vanish?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam One v9 does't collect historical data from vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 15, 2016 4:48 pm

No, it will not, if you have all the data collected it will not vanish. The behavior which is discussed here refers to another point: VMware has changed the APIs, thus making importing historical performance during initial job run very long (right after installing Veeam ONE). Feel free to upgrade both Veeam ONE and vSphere infrastructures to the latest version. Hope this helps!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests