Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V
ashleyw
Service Provider
Posts: 145
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson
Contact:

Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by ashleyw » Nov 06, 2014 11:22 pm

Hi, I've just downloaded the Veeam One v8 product and was hoping to quickly upgrade our installation.
Unfortunately the product install crashes on the install of the Veeam One Reporter Server component..
When the service VeeamRSS starts up it crashes and stops therefore breaking the installer.
Using the "repair" option does not fix things.

any ideas? In parallel I will open up a ticket with support.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5969
Liked: 521 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Shestakov » Nov 07, 2014 8:41 am

Hi Ashley,
Indeed the best way to solve the problem is to contact Veeam support team. Once you do, please post here your support case number.
Thanks.

ashleyw
Service Provider
Posts: 145
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by ashleyw » Nov 10, 2014 9:30 pm

thanks. My ticket number is 00672750.
Any assistance would be appreciated.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5969
Liked: 521 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Shestakov » Nov 10, 2014 10:04 pm

Thanks Ashley,
Let`s see how the support team can help after logs review. I`ll keep the situation in the loop and participate when it`s possible.

ashleyw
Service Provider
Posts: 145
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by ashleyw » Nov 14, 2014 12:05 am

just to close the loop on this specific issue, there was nothing in the Veeam One log files to indicate why things were failing, so we uninstalled the product, then windows patched the machine, then re-installed VeeamOne pointing it to the original database. And now things are working again.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21536
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 14, 2014 9:54 am 1 person likes this post

Ashley, thanks for the update. I have reviewed your case with our support team and the issue could indeed be related to some missing Windows updates, that is why we always recommend keeping your system up-to-date.

Dave78
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 19, 2013 12:55 pm
Full Name: Dave
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Dave78 » Nov 21, 2014 12:01 pm

Hello Ashley,
Could you tell me which Windows Patch solved your problem? I am encountering the same problem. An upgrade gave me the same service error. In frustration I totally removed Veeam ONE, deleted the Database and did a clean install, but still have the same problem.
We are using Windows Server 2012 R2 and a remote SQL 2008 R2 Server.
Thank you in advance.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21536
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 21, 2014 2:49 pm

Dave, do you have a support case ID, so that our team could take a look at the problem live?

Dave78
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 19, 2013 12:55 pm
Full Name: Dave
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Dave78 » Nov 24, 2014 7:43 am 2 people like this post

Hello Vitaly,

My problem is solved by adding the following registry key:

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control

ServicesPipeTimeout (REG_DWORD ) with the value 60000 (Decimal)

Thank you for the support,

Dave

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21536
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 24, 2014 9:22 am

How large is your Veeam ONE database and virtual infrastructure (N. of host/VMs)? I just wonder why adjusting this timeout helped in your case.

Dave78
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 19, 2013 12:55 pm
Full Name: Dave
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Dave78 » Nov 25, 2014 8:44 am

Hi Vitaliy,

After running into problems with the upgrade I did a complete new install of the Veeam ONE environment. I deleted the old database and started from scratch. After this the result was the same.
I eventually added the mentioned key into the registry, and after this the service would start fine.
Our environment consists of 2 vSphere environments. One has 4 ESXi hosts (30 VM's), the other 3ESXi hosts (18 VM's).

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21536
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 25, 2014 10:08 am

Thanks for the details, I will forward this to our QC team and will ask to reproduce it.

MrBero
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm
Full Name: Mr Bero
Contact:

[MERGED] Problem instaling Veeam ONE

Post by MrBero » Nov 26, 2014 5:04 pm

we have test celan virtual server (windows 2012 r2) today we have going to install veeam one, we have getting this errors, we have reinstalled our windows server but no lucky :( still same error
after installing veeam can't start "Veeam One reporter server".

please see attached files
Image
Image

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21536
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 26, 2014 5:11 pm 1 person likes this post

Do you have any antivirus software running on this server? Have you applied all latest patches and updates to your Windows Server?

MrBero
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm
Full Name: Mr Bero
Contact:

Re: Veeam v8 upgrade problem.

Post by MrBero » Nov 27, 2014 6:18 am

after windows update Veeam One reporter server started and my problem is resolved now
thanks
p.s. it will be ok to resolve this problem in next service pack because I don't know witch windows hotfix resolved my problem

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests