Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | VeeamPN software-defined networking
Post Reply
Luca82
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 06, 2009 3:48 pm
Full Name: lo
Contact:

Backup on Azure

Post by Luca82 » Feb 21, 2017 9:17 am

Hi everyone, I have a question about backup-copy-job to Azure, without the use of Cloud Connect.
Suppose that I just map an azure repository as a network share on my VeeamB&R and use it as a secondary repository for my backup-copy-job. As I know, without the use of Cloud Connect, it isn't possible to granular restore unless the VeeamB&R restores the entire backup file in advance. After suppose to setup a VeeamB&R virtual machine on Azure and synchronize it with the VeeamB&R which is on-prem. Finally, suppose also to map the azure network share on the virtual machine VeeamB&R. Could it be used only for restore purposes and just in order to read the backup file directly from azure without the need to restore the entire backup on prem?
Thank you everyone

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5749
Liked: 613 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 21, 2017 9:29 am

Hi,

I'm not sure if I completely understand it, is my understanding of your scenario this:

1. You have a B&R server on-premises and your backups are stored on a repository which is also on-premises.
2. You want to use backup copy job to a repository that is stored in Azure (and am I correct in understanding that you want to use Azure files for it?). You want to install a secondary B&R server on a VM in Azure

Am I correct?

Luca82
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 06, 2009 3:48 pm
Full Name: lo
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Luca82 » Feb 21, 2017 9:40 am

Yes, correct. First backup on-prem; seconday backup-copy on a Azure file storage; after I want to access to that azure storage directly from a virtual machine which is on azure (close to the azure repository).

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5749
Liked: 613 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 21, 2017 9:50 am 1 person likes this post

I assume you have a site-to-site VPN or Expressroute to Azure? This will be necessary for this scenario.

1. You can install a VM in Azure, and make that VM a repository. Not a full B&R server. The repository can be Azure files or Azure Data disks but do know that Azure files performance is not exactly that good and there are many limitations (5TB per share, max of 1 TB per file. So if you have a VBK which is over 1 TB you already will not be able to use this at this point in time. At this point in time my suggestion is still to deploy a VM with datadisks and create a repository on that one.
2. You can do this by using a backup copy job and sending that over to the repository in Azure. This actually works exactly the same as you would do it on-premises.
3. Doing restores will be the same as when you have the scenario full on-premises. On that secondary repository, there will be a backup chain so the information will be available there to do restores. Obviously your retention will depend on the retention that you have created for the BCJ's.
4. In worst case scenario, when you have lost the B&R server on-premises, all you need to do is install a clean copy of a B&R server on a VM in Azure, scan the secondary repository which is still in Azure, and you can start doing restores. Some customers have told us that they have such a B&R server "standby" to speed up things in a disaster.

I hope I make sense?

Mike

Luca82
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 06, 2009 3:48 pm
Full Name: lo
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Luca82 » Feb 21, 2017 10:58 am

Thank you Mike. Actually, there are several possible solutions to backup on Azure, and your seems to be the best one. What I was asking is a little bit different becouse the purpose is another.... as you well know, if we put a virtual machine and we use it as a repository, we need to mantain it always powered on (and it will be very expensive on Azure!!!), my solution aim to mantain a VeeamB&R virtual machine always poweredoff (this is why the choice to use file storage...becouse it is the only one solution to backup on azure without having a powered on virtual machine). Of course the customer will power on the azure machine just only when he needs to restore something.
Might it work?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5749
Liked: 613 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 21, 2017 12:31 pm 2 people like this post

Actually, this is indeed possible but there are a few downsides to it. As long as you have the connection string and the username / pwd you can map it to a server on-premises (again, you will need to have a VPN or Expressroute or similar (or open a lot of firewall ports over the internet but that would not be a good idea ;-)).

So your solution would work, but is never tested against speed / performance / how much data and so on.

To me it looks more like a scenario of StorSimple (but without the hardware) that you are trying to create and I know that some of these technologies are being worked on (on the Azure side) but I think you might be a little bit too soon for it :-). Unless of course you have a StorSimple, then it is pretty easy to do, and you can use a virtual StorSimple in case on-prem is lost to recover the data

pmansfield
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by pmansfield » Jun 06, 2017 2:28 pm

Apologies for bumping on old post, but this directly relates to something I'm looking at at the moment.

Is there any specific documentation around setting up StorSimple in Azure for use as a Backup Copy target? Do I just setup a Veeam Repo server in Azure with StorSimple providing the storage, and then create a copy job targeting the repo server?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by veremin » Jun 09, 2017 5:46 pm 1 person likes this post

Does this article answer your requirements?

marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 122
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by marieelieg » Feb 27, 2018 10:47 am

Hello everyone, hope you are doing well.

I have a similar case. I just want to understand correctly what has been said in this post (I don't know that much about Azure).
Basically we have 2 options:
1- Have a VM on azure which is always running. Add this VM as a windows host to Veeam server (on-premises) and configure it as a repository. Configure backups/backup copies/etc to this repository. Option 1 --> high cost.
2- No Azure VM needed. Use file storage on azure, map it to Veeam server (on-premises) and use it as repository. Configure backups/backup copies/etc to this repository. Option 2 --> limitations 5TB per share, max of 1 TB per file.

Is there anything else I'm missing?

In both cases, will I be able to do granular restores (on-premises) without the need to restore the entire backup file in advance?

Appreciate your soonest feedback.
Thank you in advance!! :D

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by veremin » Feb 27, 2018 3:37 pm

Is there anything else I'm missing?
Hybrid cloud storage such as StorSimple or similar.
2- No Azure VM needed. Use file storage on azure, map it to Veeam server (on-premises) and use it as repository. Configure backups/backup copies/etc to this repository. Option 2 --> limitations 5TB per share, max of 1 TB per file.
Based on our experience the second option works less reliably and sometimes costs even more, compared to the first option.
In both cases, will I be able to do granular restores (on-premises) without the need to restore the entire backup file in advance?
Correct.

Luca82
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 06, 2009 3:48 pm
Full Name: lo
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Luca82 » Apr 04, 2018 12:49 pm

Just another 2 clarifications considering the scenario without virtual machines on azure:
- there are no alternatives to cifs (file) storage, if you want to map an azure storage on premise;
- can I add another option which will be available on VBR10??? The support for data repositories that are directly connected to Azure block blob storage. This will give customers all the benefits of Azure block blob storage (which costs less than cifs) without the need for an appliance and vpn.

Correct?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by veremin » Apr 05, 2018 4:38 pm 1 person likes this post

- there are no alternatives to cifs (file) storage, if you want to map an azure storage on premise;
If you're talking about pure Azure storage, then, yes. Otherwise (if you don't mind using Azure VM disks as storage), you can create an Azure VM, connect it to local infrastructure, using site-to-site VPN and finally assign repository role to it.
- can I add another option which will be available on VBR10???
Feature request noted.

Thanks.

Fezanator
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 21, 2018 4:56 am
Full Name: Fred Pelaez
Contact:

[MERGED] Azure Storage Sizing

Post by Fezanator » Apr 09, 2018 5:26 am

Hello,

I was looking at using Microsoft Azure to store my backups (tape replacement). My understanding is that backup to Azure Blob Storage isn't available yet and the only option at this point is to use Page Blob (unmanaged disk) but can be archived to Block Blob. Question here would be more around capacity planning. Can Veeam move data to Azure storage in dedup format without using any storage gateway appliances (e.g. StorSimple, Altavault, etc.)?

Regards,

Fred

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5266
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by P.Tide » Apr 15, 2018 11:51 am

Hi Fred,

If you don't use appliance then only built-in deduplication can be applied on backups.

Thanks

Luca82
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 06, 2009 3:48 pm
Full Name: lo
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Luca82 » May 08, 2018 3:22 pm

Sorry for bumping on my old post again... I need some clarifications about "direct restore to azure". The basic configuration is: I have a backup onpremise and I want to restore (DR) to Azure... so I firstly need to power-on the "Veeam Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure" and the "Veeam PN for Microsoft Azure" virtual machines on azure. Now I can restore (data are send from my onpremise backup repository to azure storage account) and power on the restored virtual machines on Azure. It is not possible to failback the differences from azure to onprem. Am I correct?
Suppose instead: if I have a veeam proxy virtual machine (windows machine that works as proxy and repository) on azure and do a backup copyjob to that machine (therefore my data are already on azure), can I restore with "Veeam Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure" extracting the data directly from that machine? In this manner I have my data already on azure! Is it correct?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by veremin » Jun 01, 2018 4:59 pm

Nope, Direct Restore to MS Azure is currently a feature of Veeam Backup and Replication, so no need to deploy additional appliance in Azure.

Basically, you need:

- On-prem backup server that will restore backup to Azure
- Veeam PN (if you want to have site-to-site connection between your local and cloud infrastructures).

Thanks.

networkup
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2018 1:03 pm
Full Name: Adam Wilkinson
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by networkup » Oct 09, 2018 2:55 pm

Uregent help needed as our tape drive has broken and our DAS has destroyed itself.

We need to backup the on premise VMs which are sitting on ESXi to Azure so we have an offsite backup. We do not need any disaster recovery option. I just want to backup the VMs to Azure storage and if our onsite backups have become corrupt or failed restore the backup from azure back down to on premise.

What is the best way to do this as there seems to be no documentation?

The steps I would take is:
1. Build new Veeam Backup and Replication Server
2. Create and Azure File Share using these steps: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/ ... file-share
3. Mount /map the Azure File Share locally on the Veeam Backup And Replication server using these steps to mount the file share: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/ ... es-windows
4. Adding the newly create Azure File Share to Veeam Backup and Replciation Server as a repository
5. Creating backup jobs which then point to the Azure file share

Would this scenario work? How would we restore if it did?

I would use the latest release Update 3a for Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5.

pdemidov
Veeam Software
Posts: 30
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Feb 14, 2010 3:03 pm
Full Name: Pavel Demidov
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by pdemidov » Oct 09, 2018 6:58 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Adam,
haven’t tried it, but It should work, although repository access will be slow.

Make sure that Local System account of gateway server machine (https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ver=95#smb) in CIFS backup repository properties has access to that share.

In your case you will not have any additional windows servers added to Veeam Backup, so gateway server will be the Veeam Backup server itself.
Please disable gateway server automatic selection, just in case you will add windows servers later.

You will need to run all the mount commands under Local System account context, for example, using psexec utility (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysint ... ads/psexec)
Try “Psexec.exe -s cmd.exe” or “Psexec.exe -s powershell.exe”.

networkup
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2018 1:03 pm
Full Name: Adam Wilkinson
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by networkup » Oct 10, 2018 3:45 pm

Hi,

Thank you, it appears to work but i have just realised the pricing of Azure file storage is not good at all per gb after doing the test.

Is there anyway of doing backups of on premise VM's to blob storage directly? (as it is a lot cheaper) If not now is that something which will be in 9.5 update 4?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by veremin » Oct 10, 2018 4:29 pm

Is there anyway of doing backups of on premise VM's to blob storage directly?
Unfortunately, no.
If not now is that something which will be in 9.5 update 4?
I've provided an answer in corresponding thread in general VB&R forum.

Thanks!

ahmadalsayed
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 22, 2018 9:27 pm
Full Name: ahmad M. Al-Sayed
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure / Copy Backup on Azure

Post by ahmadalsayed » Feb 21, 2019 1:29 pm

Hello Dears
i need your support to provide me with the right setup. I have 4 physical servers running Windows 2012 R2 (AD, File Server, MS Dynamic & SQL). with total size 1 TB.
I'm looking to build VBR under instance based license to backup setup above. so, I do appreciate your feedback for the below points:
1-initial size needed for the local repository covering retention below
a-daily incremental.
b-weekly full - for 4 weeks.
c- monthly full - for 3 months.

2-if I need to consider Backup copy to Azure. so,
a-what is the storage size needed on Azure according to the above size I have?
b-what is the recommended Azure storage size?
c- what is the limitation I will have based on the scenario I mentioned?
d-what is the minimum bandwidth needed and how to calculate?
e-is Veeam® PN (Powered Network) needed in this case ? and how to setup it?
f-what is the time required to achieve a backup copy to Azure?
g-do I need to consider WAN acceleration or not? if yes. then when I need it? what is the Veeam license required for it?
h-what is the supported Veeam license needed to achieve Backup Copy to Azure/AWS or other repositories?
i-recommended solution for such a scenario?

appreciate your urgent feedback and support.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5266
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by P.Tide » Feb 21, 2019 6:32 pm

Hi,

1. It is hard to recommend anythhing without knowing your data change rate and other parameters. Kindly use this magnificent tool to get a good estimation on the required size.

2. Secondary storage size depends on many factors, here are some of them:

- target repository type (less storage is required if you use deduplicating filesystems)
- preferred retention type (whether you're willing to copy everything or only fulls or some other option)

There is also an option that you might be interested in - support for object storage, please take a look and let us know if it fits your needs.
The same applies to the bandwidth and limitations - depends on backup size and and backup window width.

VeeamPN is a tool designed to simplify configuration of VPN between sites, it has several application scenarios and configurations, please check this guide. If you choose to stick with Azure object storage, then you might go without VeeamPN.

For more info on WAN accelerator and other question kindly check the user guide and feel free to ask if anything is not clear.

Thanks!

Luca82
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 06, 2009 3:48 pm
Full Name: lo
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Luca82 » Mar 11, 2019 3:11 pm

Hi everyone, since veeam is in constant upgrade with new functionalities, therefore we need also to update the forum informations :D
So, I have two questions for you: (i) I wanted to make a backup in my local repository and then a copy job to Azure: and currently this is no possible: so I thinked a workaroud: I make a copyjob to another local repository and then configure a day 0 tiering policy, so veeam immediately move the backup to azure: could this work? (ii) suppose my restore point is completely on azure blob archive and I want to make a "direct restore to azure": does the data need to come back to veeam server on premise and then send again to azure in form of virtual machine, or the data still remain on azure without the need to come back on premise? Thank you as always.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by veremin » Mar 11, 2019 6:25 pm 1 person likes this post

I make a copyjob to another local repository and then configure a day 0 tiering policy, so veeam immediately move the backup to azure: could this work?
Nope, as some backups belonging to active part of the chain will still be present locally.

By the way, we're planning to add copy mode for capacity tier in one of the next product releases.
does the data need to come back to veeam server on premise and then send again to azure in form of virtual machine, or the data still remain on azure without the need to come back on premise?
As long as you use Azure proxy in this scenario, traffic will stay isolated to Azure.

Thanks!

Luca82
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 06, 2009 3:48 pm
Full Name: lo
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Luca82 » Mar 12, 2019 6:49 am

Thank you... but...what is the Azure proxy? Do I need to have a veeam virtual machine on azure?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5266
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by P.Tide » Mar 12, 2019 10:21 am 1 person likes this post

Yes, you need a dedicated machine on Azure. The process of Azure proxy configuration is almost automatic, please check this article for details.

Thanks!

Luca82
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 06, 2009 3:48 pm
Full Name: lo
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by Luca82 » Mar 12, 2019 11:06 am

Thank you, therefore I need proxy just to make a "direct restore to azure", is it? So I can power-on/off just when I need it, correct?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5266
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup on Azure

Post by P.Tide » Mar 12, 2019 12:32 pm

Right, provided that you've configured a proxy beforehand, Veeam will power it on automatically.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest