Feedback on Direct Restore to Azure

Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | Free, secure file copy for Microsoft Azure VMs

Feedback on Direct Restore to Azure

Veeam Logoby jefutte » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:10 am

Hi,

I'm new to Veeam, but already love it. I started testing the restore to Azure option this weekend, and found a few things that could be better. Don't get me wrong, I love the feature! :-) I'm an Azure guy to the bones, so that's my point of view ;-)

1. When creating a new Azure Proxy, a Public IP with NSG is assigned. Port 3389 and 6181 is open for "any". The user should be warned about this, or preferably have the option to lock down the NSG to specific IPs during deployment. Since the VM is only online during restore it's not that critical, but still something the user should be informed about. I saw in another post that we can manually create the Proxy VM, will test that too! :-)
2. The use of Public IPs on Azure Proxy is easy and works in most cases. Using existing VPN connections would be a nice addition though.
3. Restoring a VM is easy - but like the Proxy VM, it get's a Public IP and NSG, with port 3389 open for "any". That's not a good design, and could easily lead to VMs being exposed publicly. Public IPs should in my opinion be optional, and rather an opt-in option, than having them assigned by accident. The NSG should again be locked down from deployment.
4. There are a lot of options when restoring the VM - an extra "nice to have" would be Availability Set support, since we can't move VMs to Availability Set without redeploying them.

Am I totally off on these points?
jefutte
Novice

Liked: never
Full Name: Jesper Jensen

Re: Feedback on Direct Restore to Azure

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:30 pm

Jesper,