Direct Restore to Microsoft Azure | VeeamPN software-defined networking
Post Reply
squadri
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2018 1:50 pm
Full Name: syed
Contact:

How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by squadri » Jul 23, 2018 6:28 am

I have recently deployed Veeam PN ova into our Network. However, it shows no IP address taken as I have no dhcp enabled. I need to assign a static IP to the appliance. Kindly guide me how to do it using the terminal console.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15528
Liked: 1180 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by v.Eremin » Jul 26, 2018 11:49 am

It requires DHCP presence for initial configuration. Once the initial setup is over (connection is established), you can change IP address to static one. Thanks.

jdgs
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 11, 2012 8:42 am
Full Name: Jack
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by jdgs » Jul 26, 2018 9:35 pm

Forgive my ignorance, but how do I assign a static IP? I cannot find a section in the UI for this?

AVasilyev
Veeam Software
Posts: 50
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by AVasilyev » Jul 30, 2018 1:11 pm

Using WebUI please navigate to Settings -> System -> IP Settings.
If your network doesn't have DHCP please deploy it to one which has DHCP enabled, change the IP settings as described above and then you can re-join your VM to the original network.

In next version we will add configuration of static IP.

squadri
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2018 1:50 pm
Full Name: syed
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by squadri » Aug 01, 2018 1:42 pm

There is no such setting as IP Settings under your " Settings -> System ->" showing in WebUI. When I check commandline, ifconfig it shows "ens160" and not the eth0 . Will highly appreciate if you can provide step by step procedure how to assign a static IP in this case.

squadri
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2018 1:50 pm
Full Name: syed
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by squadri » Aug 01, 2018 1:43 pm

any idea why this settings shows missing !!!

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15528
Liked: 1180 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 01, 2018 5:09 pm

The screenshots from WebUI would be helpful. Thanks.

squadri
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2018 1:50 pm
Full Name: syed
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by squadri » Aug 02, 2018 12:42 pm

v.Eremin wrote:The screenshots from WebUI would be helpful. Thanks.
http://alfilrpub1.almabani.com.sa/ssf/s ... 0webui.JPG

please find screenshot for the same

squadri
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2018 1:50 pm
Full Name: syed
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by squadri » Aug 02, 2018 12:53 pm

Found this article...but not so helpful.. https://help.ubuntu.com/16.04/servergui ... ation.html

I do not see any eth0 but ens160 !!

AVasilyev
Veeam Software
Posts: 50
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by AVasilyev » Aug 07, 2018 2:53 pm 1 person likes this post

Sorry it turns out the static IP setting screen was cut off from central HUB appliance. It exists only for appliance is running in "Site Gateway" mode

So to switch to static IP address please login to the appliance by SSH and follow the following procedure:
the following commands should be run with root privileges, to switch to one you can run: sudo su -

1) to find out the name of the adapter you can use the following command: /sbin/ip -o l | grep -E \"UP.*link/ether\" | grep -vE \"NO-CARRIER\" | awk -F \": \" '{print $2}'
2) please save current DHCP config to some folder e.g.: cp /etc/network/interfaces.d/primary.conf /root
3) copy template config file to a temporary location: cp /etc/veeampn/config_templates/net_int_static.template /root
4) edit template file: nano /root/net_int_static.template
  1. replace %ADAPTER_NAME% with adapter name discovered in step 1
    %IP_ADDRESS% - desired IP address
    %IP_MASK% - desired IP mask in x.x.x.x format
    %GATEWAY_IP% - correct gateway IP address
    %DNS_IP% - IP address of DNS server in local network
5) copy edited file to replace the current profile: cp /root/net_int_static.template /etc/network/interfaces.d/primary.conf
6) (note: after the following command old IP address will stop responding) to switch to the static address please run (replace %ADAPTER_NAME% with adapter name from step 1): ip a flush %ADAPTER_NAME% && ifdown -a && ifup -a
7) if your SSH session hungs - please press <enter>~. to quit from the host

Thank you,
Alexey

squadri
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2018 1:50 pm
Full Name: syed
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by squadri » Aug 08, 2018 7:21 am

Thanks for the reponse but when I try point number one , it shows unterminated string . Please find attached screenshot

http://alfilrpub1.almabani.com.sa/ssf/s ... nk/ssh.jpg

AVasilyev
Veeam Software
Posts: 50
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: How to assign Static IP address to veeam PN appliance

Post by AVasilyev » Aug 08, 2018 12:58 pm 1 person likes this post

Sorry - the step 1 was copied with an error in the format
Here is the correct one: /sbin/ip -o l | grep -E "UP.*link/ether" | grep -vE "NO-CARRIER" | awk -F ": " '{print $2}'

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests